Understanding before Moving 69: Ideas in the King's Indian (2)

by ChessBase
3/6/2022 – Herman Grooten is an International Master, a renowned trainer and the author of several highly acclaimed books about chess training and chess strategy. In the 69th instalment of his ChessBase show "Understanding before Moving", Herman continues to show ideas in the King's Indian. | Photo: Pascal Simon

ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024 ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024

It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy the game even more.


In the  previous episode we saw a King's Indian in which Black lost his light-squared bishop and could not get an attack going. In the King's Indian Black is more or less forced to seize the initiative on the kingside because he will almost always lose the battle on the queenside.

This leads to sharp battles. The black-squared bishop is the King's Indian bishop, but Black also needs his light-squared bishop: to get the attack on the kingside going and to succeed with the attack by sacrificing it at the right moment.

However, not all King's Indian devotees believe that Black always needs the light-squared bishop and there are plenty of examples where Black manages to attack without it.

One nice example is a game of the former Women's World Champion Xie Jun against Nana Ioseliani from Georgia. White managed to remove the light-squared bishop from the board by exchanging it against a knight, but Black still was able to unleash a ferocious attack.

In the diagrammed position, the black attacking machine is running at full speed. Do you see how Xie Jun closed the mating net?




This week’s show (for Premium Members only)


Reports about chess: tournaments, championships, portraits, interviews, World Championships, product launches and more.


Rules for reader comments


Not registered yet? Register