New York 1924, Round 22: Live

5/25/2020 – Today, the last round of the New York 1924 will be played. Dr. Emanuel Lasker leads with 15.0/19 and is certain to win the tournament because he is 1½ ahead of Capablanca who is certain to finish second. However, as each player receives extra money for a win a peaceful last round is unlikely. All rounds begin at 15:00 UK (16:00 CEST, 09:00 EST). | The photo shows the eleven participants. Seated (from left to right): F. Yates, J.R. Capablanca, D. Janowsky, Edward Lasker, Emanuel Lasker. Standing (from left to right): F. Marshall, S. Tartakower, G. Maroczy, A. Alekhine, R. Reti, E. Bogoljubow

ChessBase 15 - Mega package ChessBase 15 - Mega package

Find the right combination! ChessBase 15 program + new Mega Database 2020 with 8 million games and more than 80,000 master analyses. Plus ChessBase Magazine (DVD + magazine) and CB Premium membership for 1 year!

More...

The tournament is a double round-robin with eleven participants.

Standings after 21 rounds

Rk. Name 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Pts.
1 Emanuel Lasker   ½0 ½  11 11 11 ½1 ½1 ½1 11 15.0
2 Jose Raul Capablanca ½1   ½½ ½½ 01 ½1 11 ½1 ½1 13.5
3 Alexander Alekhine ½½   ½½ 10 ½½ ½  11 ½½ 11 11.5
4 Frank James Marshall ½  ½½ ½½   ½1 01 ½0 ½1 11 11.0
5 Richard Reti 00 10 01 ½0   01 ½½ 11 10 10 9.5
6 Efim Bogoljubow 00 ½½ 10 10   10 01 11 ½1 01 9.5
7 Geza Maroczy 00 ½0 ½½ 01   ½½ ½1 10 9.0
8 Savielly Tartakower ½0 00 ½  ½1 00 10 ½½   10 ½0 ½1 7.5
9 Frederick Dewhurst Yates ½0 00 ½0 01 00 01   11 ½1 7.0
10 Edward Lasker ½0 ½0 ½½ 01 ½0 ½0 ½1 00   6.5
11 Dawid Markelowicz Janowsky 00 ½0 00 00 10 01 ½0 ½0   5.0

Pairings of round 22

J.R. Capablanca - E. Bogoljubow
Em. Lasker - F. Marshall
A. Alekhine - S. Tartakower
G. Maroczy - F. Yates
R. Reti - D. Janowsky

Bye: Edward Lasker

Games of round 21

 

Links



Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register