Tata Steel Chess Round 13 round-up

by ChessBase
1/28/2018 – Magnus Carlsen won the 80th Tata Steel Masters which was decided in a blitz tiebreak over Dutch number one Anish Giri. The players contested two blitz games with 5 minutes plus 3 seconds per move, with no sudden death Armageddon game needed. Vidit played solidly to earn a draw that was enough to win the Challengers, as Korobov could not manage to pull off a win with black on-demand. | Photo: Alina l'Ami TataSteelChess.com

ChessBase Account Premium annual subscription ChessBase Account Premium annual subscription

At the airport, in the hotel or at home on your couch: with the new ChessBase you always have access to the whole ChessBase world: the new ChessBase video library, tactics server, opening training App, the live database with eight million games, Let’s Check and web access to playchess.com

More...

Carlsen wins Masters, Vidit wins Challengers

GM Daniel King's Round 13 round-up

Tiebreak

The time control is 5 minutes plus 3 seconds per move for the entire game. Two blitz games will be played, and if tied, a single sudden-death ("Armageddon") game, in which black has draw odds, but starts with one minute less.

Live games and commentary

 

Commentary by GM Eric Hansen and GM Jan Smeets (plus guests) | Tata Steel Chess YouTube

All games

Masters
 
Challengers
 

Final standings

Masters
 
Challengers
 

Round-up show with Lawrence Trent

All round-up shows are available in ChessBase Videos, for Premium account holders


ChessBase Account Premium annual subscription

At the airport, in the hotel or at home on your couch: with the new ChessBase you always have access to the whole ChessBase world: the new ChessBase video library, tactics server, opening training App, the live database with eight million games, Let’s Check and web access to playchess.com


Round schedule

All rounds start at 13:30 CET except where noted.

  • Round 1: Saturday 13 January
  • Round 2: Sunday 14 January
  • Round 3: Monday 15 January
  • Round 4: Tuesday 16 January
  • Round 5: Wednesday 17 January (Masters in Hilversum starts 14:00)
  • Free day: Thursday 18 January
  • Round 6: Friday 19 January
  • Round 7: Saturday 20 January
  • Round 8: Sunday 21 January
  • Free day: Monday 22 January
  • Round 9: Tuesday 23 January
  • Round 10: Wednesday 24 January (Masters in Groningen starts 14:00)
  • Free day: Thursday 25 January
  • Round 11: Friday 26 January 
  • Round 12: Saturday 27 January
  • Round 13: Sunday 28 January (12:00 Noon)

Links



Reports about chess: tournaments, championships, portraits, interviews, World Championships, product launches and more.