Women's World Championship LIVE

by ChessBase
5/18/2018 – The Women's World Championship match between defending champion Tan Zhongyi and challenger Ju Wenjun is played over ten games, half in Shanghai (Ju Wenjun's hometown), half in Chongqing (Tan Zhongyi's hometown). After eight games Ju Wenjun leads 4½-3½ and Tan has two games left to catch up. Live games from 9:00 AM CEST (3:00 AM EDT) | Photo: Gu Xiaobing

Opening Encyclopedia 2018 Opening Encyclopedia 2018

The Opening Encyclopaedia 2018 features complete coverage of all opening areas on a single DVD and constitutes the best possible introduction to opening training.

More...

Tan Zhongyi vs. Ju Wenjun

From May 2nd to 19th the Women's World Chess Championship is being decided in China between two Chinese players: Reigning World Champion Tan Zhongyi, currently ranked tenth in the world, defends her title against world number two, Ju Wenjun. The organizer of the competition is the Chinese Chess Federation, which will host the match in Shanghai and Chongqing — Ju Wenjun is from Shanghai, Tan Zhongyi lives in Chongqing.

The competition for the World Championship is played over ten games. Should it be tied, a rapid (and if necessary, blitz) playoff will be played on May 19th.

Live games (15:00 in Shanghai / 9:00 AM CEST / 3:00 AM EDT)

 

Current standings

 

Schedule

Date Event Place
May 2 Opening ceremony Shanghai
May 3 Game 1 Shanghai
May 4 Game 2 Shanghai
May 5 Rest day Shanghai
May 6 Game 3 Shanghai
May 7 Game 4 Shanghai
May 8 Rest day Shanghai
May 9 Game 5 Shanghai
     
May 12 Game 6 Chongqing
May 13 Game 7 Chongqing
May 14 Rest day Chongqing
May 15 Game 8 Chongqing
May 16 Game 9 Chongqing
May 17 Rest day Chongqing
May 18 Game 10 Chongqing
May 19 Playoff (if needed) / Closing Chongqing

Links



Reports about chess: tournaments, championships, portraits, interviews, World Championships, product launches and more.