Aeroflot Open, Round 9

2/27/2019 – The Aeroflot Open in Moscow is one of the strongest open tournaments of the world. In the A-Group 101 players take part, and almost all of them are International Masters or Grandmasters. 76 participants have a rating of 2500+. Round 3 starts at 15:00 local time (13:00 CET, 12:00 UTC, 7:00 AM EST) and you can follow the games live.

ChessBase 16 - Mega package Edition 2021 ChessBase 16 - Mega package Edition 2021

Your key to fresh ideas, precise analyses and targeted training!
Everyone uses ChessBase, from the World Champion to the amateur next door. It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy the game even more.

More...

The 17th Aeroflot Open, Round 9

101 players start in the A-Open and fight for a prize-fund of 140,000 Euros of which the winner will receive 18,000 Euros. As an additional incentive the winner of the A-Open also automatically qualifies for the prestigious Grandmaster Tournament in Dortmund.

After the first round had to be aborted, the organisers rescheduled the rounds. On Saturday, February 23, two rounds will be played: round 4 will start at 9:30 local time (7:30 CET, 6:30 UTC, 1:30 AM EST), round 5 at 16:30 local time (14:30 CET, 13:30 UTC, 8:30 AM EST). All other rounds begin at 15:00 local time.

Previous stories on Aeroflot 2019:

 

Final standings (top 30)

Rk. Name Pts.  TB1 
1 Kulaots Kaido 7,0 5
2 Martirosyan Haik M. 7,0 4
3 Sasikiran Krishnan 6,5 4
4 Wang Hao 6,0 5
5 Wei Yi 6,0 4
6 Chigaev Maksim 6,0 4
7 Inarkiev Ernesto 6,0 4
8 Sarana Alexey 6,0 4
9 Anton Guijarro David 6,0 4
10 Tabatabaei M.Amin 5,5 5
11 Korobov Anton 5,5 5
12 Vaibhav Suri 5,5 5
13 Sjugirov Sanan 5,5 5
14 Paravyan David 5,5 5
  Hakobyan Aram 5,5 5
16 Khismatullin Denis 5,5 5
17 Deac Bogdan-Daniel 5,5 4
18 Lupulescu Constantin 5,5 4
19 Sychev Klementy 5,5 4
20 Zhou Jianchao 5,5 4
21 Petrosian Tigran L. 5,5 4
22 Narayanan.S.L 5,5 4
23 Maghsoodloo Parham 5,5 4
24 Yakubboev Nodirbek 5,5 4
25 Abdusattorov Nodirbek 5,0 5
26 Nihal Sarin 5,0 5
27 Petrosyan Manuel 5,0 5
28 Xu Yi 5,0 5
29 Grachev Boris 5,0 5
30 Iturrizaga Bonelli Eduardo 5,0 5

Links


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register

macauley macauley 2/27/2019 04:05
In 9.2. I find it interesting that Martirosyan played this same line with White just a few weeks ago: http://database.chessbase.com/?search=Martirosyan%20Hovhannisyan%20Qual Position after 12.Bd5 r1b1k2r/bppnqp2/p1np3p/3Bp1p1/P3P3/2PP1NB1/1P1N1PPP/R2Q1RK1 b ha - 3 12
ebit ebit 2/19/2019 03:45
Very easy to find out: who had a (nearly) lost position. ^^
Wastrel Wastrel 2/19/2019 03:21
@Hurwitz The rumor is that there was a bomb threat in the building and the players were evacuated. https://twitter.com/TricksOnlyNL
hurwitz hurwitz 2/19/2019 02:47
It seems all the games are stopped, is there any technical problem?
1