2014 Sinquefield Cup starts today

8/27/2014 – It is billed as the strongest chess tournament in history: the world's numbers 1, 2, 3, 5, 8 and 9 are playing a double round robin in Chess Club and Scholastic Center, Saint Louis, USA. Their average rating is 2801, making it a Category XXIII event. Total prize fund: US $315,000. The first round starts at 2 p.m. local time today. Playchess has live coverage and commentary.

ChessBase 15 - Mega package ChessBase 15 - Mega package

Find the right combination! ChessBase 15 program + new Mega Database 2020 with 8 million games and more than 80,000 master analyses. Plus ChessBase Magazine (DVD + magazine) and CB Premium membership for 1 year!

More...

2014 Sinquefield Cup

This super-GM double round robin tournament is being played from August 27th to September 7th. It is billed as the strongest tournament in the history of chess.

The players – Magnus Carlsen (Norway), Levon Aronian (Armenia), Fabiano Caruana (Italy), Hikaru Nakamura (USA), Veselin Topalov (Bulgaria) and Maxime Vachier-Lagrave (France) – are the world's number 1, 2, 3, 5, 8 and 9, the average rating is 2801, making this the first ever Category XXIII tournament!

The prize fund is US $315,000 in total, with the winner getting $100,000, the runner up $75,00, and the rest $50,000 – $20,000. The venue is the Chess Club and Scholastic Center at 4657 Maryland Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63108. Tickets cost $15 per round, $65 for five rounds and $100 for all ten rounds.

Participants

No. Player
Rating
W-Rnk
Age
Country
1 Magnus Carlsen
2877
1
23
Norway
2 Levon Aronian
2805
2
31
Armenia
3 Fabiano Caruana
2801
3
22
Italy
4 Hikaru Nakamura
2787
5
26
USA
5 Veselin Topalov
2772
8
39
Bulgaria
6 Maxime Vachier-Lagrave
2768
9
23
France

Pairings for the first round, which starts on Wednesday, August 27, at 2 p.m. local time (21:00h CEST, 23:00h Moscow, Thursday 0:30 New Delhi, 04:00h Tokyo, 05:00 Canberra – check your location here), are:

Levon Aronian -
Hikaru Nakamura
Veselin Topalov - Fabiano Caruana
M. Vachier-Lagrave - Magnus Carlsen

The games will be broadcast live on Playchess, with expert analysis (see schedule below).

Schedule

Day Date Time Event
Playchess commentary
Wednesday Aug. 27 2 PM Round 1
Simon Williams
Thursday Aug. 28 2 PM Round 2
Simon Williams
Friday Aug. 29 2 PM Round 3
Simon Williams
Saturday Aug. 30 2 PM Round 4
Simon Williams
Sunday Aug. 31 2 PM Round 5
Simon Williams
Monday Sept. 1 Rest Day
Tuesday Sept. 2 2 PM Round 6
Daniel King
Wednesday Sept. 3 2 PM Round 7
Simon Williams
Thursday Sept. 4 2 PM Round 8
Daniel King
Friday Sept. 5 2 PM Round 9
Simon Williams
Saturday Sept. 6 2 PM Round 10
Chris Ward
Sunday Sept. 7 12 PM Playoffs
 

Links

The games are being broadcast live on the official web site and on the chess server Playchess.com. If you are not a member you can download a free Playchess client there and get immediate access. You can also use ChessBase 12 or any of our Fritz compatible chess programs.