The Power Play Show with GM Daniel King: Anand - Gelfand

5/2/2012 – Improvement of your own play is one of the main aims when you are engaged in chess training. GM Daniel King is an expert who can guide you in achieving this goal. In his Power Play show he will present a bunch of practical examples and show you how to handle different kinds of positions, which will help improve your practical results. An example and more information.

Komodo 12 Komodo 12

In computer chess there is no getting past Komodo, a two-time ICGA Computer World Chess Champion. Find out how Komodo can take your game to the next level!

More...

The Power Play Show with GM Daniel King

Daniel King, popular author of the Power Play series and many books, has his own show on playchess.com. Once a month he presents selected games and themes from practical play. You can ask Daniel questions during the show and you can also just relax, lean back and let yourself be quietly entertained and instructed. The show today deals with the upcoming World Championship match between Vishy Anand and Boris Gelfand!


Recent picture made while his stay to record another Power Play DVD

The following example is from the game Gelfand - Anand where White is to move and win. Try to find a move or combination of moves that gives White an advantage. The solution will be presented today at 8 pm on playchess.com.

The next example is from the game Anand - Gelfand where White is to move and win. Try to find a move or combination of moves for White. The solution will be presented today at 8 pm on playchess.com.

The show starts at 7 p.m. or 19:00h British time = 20:00h CET, 22:00h Moscow, 12:30 a.m. Chennai, 03:00h Beijing, 06:00 a.m. Melbourne, 08:00 a.m. Auckland, 11 a.m. San Francisco, 2 p.m. New York. You can check your location here

Here's the official teaser for the Power Play Show:

 

Order King’s Power Play DVDs in the ChessBase Shop:

About the author:

Born 1963, Daniel King has been a professional chess player for more than 20 years and has represented his country in numerous competitions, amongst others in the historic win by the English over the Soviet Union in 1990 in Reykjavik. King is the author of more than 15 chess books and has wealth of experience as a trainer, assisting many of England’s leading players. He is also well known for his broadcasting on TV, radio and the internet, commentating major chess events. To the delight of chess fans worldwide, he hosts his monthly "Powerplay" show on the world's largest chess server, Playchess.com. He contributes to ChessBase Magazine, with the popular column "Move by Move". King has also produced the highly praised PowerPlay DVD series for ChessBase. King lives in London.


Discussion and Feedback Join the public discussion or submit your feedback to the editors


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register