The Achilles heel h2...

4/2/2010 – ... Black had spotted in this position when he went for 28...Bh3 to allow his c-rook to forcefully occupy the second rank while clearing the diagonal b6-g1. How would you assess the situation after the capture of the bishop? A) Black wins;  B) the position is balanced; C) White gets the advantage. The solution is here, but first ponder over it with a larger version of the diagram.

ChessBase 15 - Mega package ChessBase 15 - Mega package

Find the right combination! ChessBase 15 program + new Mega Database 2019 with 7.6 million games and more than 70,000 master analyses. Plus ChessBase Magazine (DVD + magazine) and CB Premium membership for 1 year!

More...

Tactics, Openings, Endgames - Visit ChessBase Magazine Online

The Achilles heel h2 Black had spotted in this position when he went for 28...Bh3 to allow his c-rook to forcefully occupy the second rank while clearing the diagonal b6-g1. How would you assess the situation after the capture of the bishop?

A) Black wins;
B) The position is balanced;
C) White gets the advantage.

Solution



Discussion and Feedback Join the public discussion or submit your feedback to the editors


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register