Spanish Championship LIVE

by ChessBase
11/24/2019 – The 84th edition of the Spanish Championship is taking place in Marbella (province of Málaga) from the 16th until the 24th of November. Most of the strongest players from the Iberian country are participating. Five players are sharing the lead on 5 out of 6: Paco Vallejo, Alexei Shirov, Miguel Santos Ruiz, José Cuenca and Pedro Ginés. Rounds 1 to 8 start at 16:00 UTC (17:00 CET / 11:00 AM EST) | Photo: Diario Sur

ChessBase 15 - Mega package ChessBase 15 - Mega package

Find the right combination! ChessBase 15 program + new Mega Database 2020 with 8 million games and more than 80,000 master analyses. Plus ChessBase Magazine (DVD + magazine) and CB Premium membership for 1 year!

More...

Round 9

The championship is a 9-round Swiss event with a time control of 90 minutes for the whole game plus 30-second increments from move one. The winner of the open tournament will take home €5,000. 

Sabrina Vega is the women's defending champion. In order to win it again, she will need to get the best score among the female players. Her highest-rated rivals this year are Mónica Calzetta, Liudmila Kolotilina and María Adela Perero. Among the men, on the other hand, Gabriel del Río arrived in Marbella as last year's champion. While in 2018 he was the fifth seed at the event held in Linares, he is now the thirteenth highest-rated player of the field.


Reports: Round 3, Round 6


Live games

Rounds 1 to 8 start at 16:00 UTC (17:00 CET / 11:00 AM EST), Round 9 starts at 8:30 UTC (9:30 CET / 3:30 AM EST). 

 

All games available at Live.Chessbase.com

ChessBase Account Premium annual subscription

At the airport, in the hotel or at home on your couch: with the new ChessBase you always have access to the whole ChessBase world: the new ChessBase video library, tactics server, opening training App, the live database with eight million games, Let’s Check and web access to playchess.com

More...

Final standings (top 15)

 

...142 players

Links




Reports about chess: tournaments, championships, portraits, interviews, World Championships, product launches and more.
Discussion and Feedback Join the public discussion or submit your feedback to the editors


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register

catalanFischer catalanFischer 11/23/2019 04:57
yes welcome Shirov but in the Grand Swiss he played the Petroff vs. Carlsen
Jayarama Iyer Jayarama Iyer 11/21/2019 04:45
Fire on the board Shirov!
Welcome Shirov's comeback to chess.
Kaspirateur Kaspirateur 11/20/2019 06:50
Shirov's comeback is really good news for the chess world !
geraldsky geraldsky 11/20/2019 04:48
fire on board by Shirov !
1