Simon Says: Candidates, a deeper look

by Simon Williams
3/23/2020 – The Candidates Tournament is one of the most anticipated events of 2020, and GM Simon Williams is watching it attentively. Today, a look at the highlights of the first six rounds. | Watch for free live and on-demand (for a limited time, or forever with a ChessBase Premium account) starting as soon as Round 6 of the Candidates concludes. (Normally 17:00 UTC (18:00 CET / 12 Noon EST).

London System with 2.Bf4 Reloaded and Tactic Toolbox London System London System with 2.Bf4 Reloaded and Tactic Toolbox London System

Simon Williams presents the London System, providing the theory you need for your games (7 h 16 min). In addition Williams also introduces into typical tactics and patterns in a seperate product. (53 games, 96 training questions and 3h 14 min)

More...

Key moments so far

In this show, we take a deeper look at what is happening in the candidates. With an analysis of the key moments so far and a look at how the players got there.

But first, how do Nepomniachtchi finish his opponent off here?

 

Find the game below!


This week's show

Live for free from 18:00 UTC (19:00 CET / 2 PM EDT). You can also watch it in the archive with a ChessBase Account. Don't have an account? You can register a free 90-day account to watch! 

Simon is live most Mondays at 17:00 UTC (18:00 CET / 12 Noon EST)

Previous shows on-demand

View all past shows, with a ChessBase Premium Account.


About Simon Says

In early 2015 Simon Williams launched his own show called "Simon says" after producing the first of his ChessBase video series. On a weekly basis (with breaks for tournaments and chess events) Simon entertains the chess world with attacking ideas, play strategies and witty manoeuvres on the chess board.

ChessBase Premium members have permanent access to the videos in the archive. Over 60 shows and counting have been published to date. Their lengths differ but most of them run for about 60 minutes.

Read more in Meeting Simon Williams.

Much more from Simon's shows in the archive at Videos.ChessBase.com

Recent Simon Says shows

Still more Simon

Simon's latest DVD series duo the "London System Reloaded" and the "Tactic Toolbox London System" are now available. Check them out, starting with the sample below: 

Video sample

Solution to today's puzzle:

 

London System with 2.Bf4 Reloaded and Tactic Toolbox London System

Simon Williams presents the London System, providing the theory you need for your games (7 h 16 min). In addition Williams also introduces into typical tactics and patterns in a seperate product. (53 games, 96 training questions and 3h 14 min)


Links




Simon Williams became a IM in 1998 and a GM in 2008. For the last 15 years he has concentrated on teaching, playing and making instructional chess DVDs. He also has a lot of experience commentating about chess. Being the regular commentator at the strongest and best open tournament in the world, Gibraltar. Simon Williams is the author of numerous chess books. His first chess book. 'Play the Classical Dutch' got voted, in New in Chess, as one of the top 10 chess books of all time. His playing style is very aggressive, preferring attacking chess to positional grinds. No wonder he produced two widely acclaimed ChessBase DVDs on the King's Gambit. More information about Williams can be found on his website.
Discussion and Feedback Join the public discussion or submit your feedback to the editors


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register