Prague Chess Festival, Round 5 - Live

6/18/2021 – After four rounds Sam Shankland and Nijat Abasov lead the Masters tournament at the Prague Chess Festival with 3.0/4 each and in round 5 they play against each other - Shankland has the white pieces. David Navara, who started the tournament with four losses, plays against Thai Dan Van Nguyen. The round starts at 15:00 CEST (9:00 ET, 13:00 UTC). Follow the games live.

ChessBase 16 - Mega package Edition 2021 ChessBase 16 - Mega package Edition 2021

Your key to fresh ideas, precise analyses and targeted training!
Everyone uses ChessBase, from the World Champion to the amateur next door. It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy the game even more.

More...

The Prague Chess Festival (14-20 June 2021) will be held for the third time this year and is set to become a permanent fixture.

The organisers of the tournament are the chess friends of record champion Novy Bor with Petr Boleslav at the helm. The headliner of the festival is a GM tournament, the Masters. There are many other tournaments in the supporting programme.

The host is the Hotel Don Giovanni in Prague.

The rounds in the Masters start at 15:00 CEST (9:00 ET, 13:00 UTC). The rounds in the Open start at 15:00 CEST (9:00 ET, 13:00 UTC) and occasionally (16 June and 18 June) at 9:00 CEST (3:00 ET, 7:00 UTC).

Pairings of round 4

Bo. No. FED Rtg     Name Result   Name   FED Rtg No.
1 8 POL 2687
 
GM Wojtaszek Radoslaw ½ - ½ GM Shankland Sam
 
USA 2691 6
2 7 AZE 2665
 
GM Abasov Nijat 1 - 0 GM Navara David
 
CZE 2697 5
3 1 CZE 2577
 
GM Nguyen Thai Dai Van ½ - ½ GM Duda Jan-Krzysztof
 
POL 2729 4
4 2 NED 2701
 
GM Van Foreest Jorden ½ - ½ GM Grandelius Nils
 
SWE 2670 3

Standings after round 4

 

Games, Rounds 1-4

 

Live Games Masters

 

Live Games Open

 

Links

Discussion and Feedback Join the public discussion or submit your feedback to the editors


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register

Aighearach Aighearach 6/18/2021 06:02
They obviously didn't have a background photo, so they zoomed on the margin of a photo of a person in the foreground.

Are you always this good at figuring out what you see?
Minnesota Fats Minnesota Fats 6/17/2021 08:34
the cover photo looks like a photo from the 60s?
Blurred as hell?
Are they still using old camera's with alot of handshake in Prague?
gwrtheyrn gwrtheyrn 6/17/2021 08:12
Clearly Navara (currently 0-4) has some problem going on. One hopes that he's alright.
1