The Power Play Show: Remembering Tony Miles

by Daniel King
4/24/2020 – In today's Power Play Show Grandmaster Daniel King takes a look at the games of Tony Miles, England's first grandmaster and a very original player. | Power Play is on air most Fridays at 17:00 UK (18:00 CEST, Noon EST) on playchess.com. All the usual puzzles, games and instruction will be on offer. Puzzle and the live video...

Power Play 27: The King's Gambit Power Play 27: The King's Gambit

Glorious sacrifices, unexpected tactics and checkmating attacks. The King's Gambit is one of the oldest and most romantic openings in the game of chess. This DVD contains all you need to know to tackle your opponent.

More...

Remembering Tony Miles

I will be celebrating the play of Tony Miles who died in 2001 at the tragically young age of 46. He played so many brilliant and original games, many of which are left gathering digital dust in databases. It's time we selected a few for another look.

Do join me for a discussion of this original playerin the Power Play Show today at 17.00 UK / 18.00 CET / 21.30 Mumbai

White to play. What is the quickest way to win?

 

This week

To chat, please visit videos.chessbase.com/live or login via Playchess for Windows

Live Fridays, at 17:00 UTC / 18:00 CET / Noon EST


Previous shows

You'll find older broadcasts in the Power Play category. To watch these you'll need a ChessBase Premium Account.


Daniel King is the prolific author of the PowerPlay series which numbers 27 volumes to date. The subject of his most recent DVD is "The King's Gambit"

Here's a teaser:


Power Play 27: The King's Gambit

Glorious sacrifices, unexpected tactics and checkmating attacks. The King's Gambit is one of the oldest and most romantic openings in the game of chess. This DVD contains all you need to know to tackle your opponent.


Links



Daniel King is a regular on playchess.com. Commentating on live events such as the World Championship or analysing themes for his monthly Power Play Show. He also produces a DVD series called Power Play for ChessBase in the Fritztrainer format.