The Power Play Show: Fighting Spirit

by Daniel King
4/17/2020 – In today's Power Play Show Grandmaster Daniel King presents a game by Mir Sultan Khan, the Indian player who was virtually unknown when he came to London in 1929 but quickly became one of the world's best players. | Power Play is on air most Fridays at 17:00 UK (18:00 CEST, Noon EST) on playchess.com. All the usual puzzles, games and instruction will be on offer. Puzzle and the live video...

Power Play 27: The King's Gambit Power Play 27: The King's Gambit

Glorious sacrifices, unexpected tactics and checkmating attacks. The King's Gambit is one of the oldest and most romantic openings in the game of chess. This DVD contains all you need to know to tackle your opponent.

More...

Sultan Khan shows fighting spirit

One of Sultan Khan's great strengths was his fighting spirit: his desire to play for a win, which he demonstrated in this game; and his tenacity in defence - and I'll be showing examples of that too.

Do join me for a discussion of this most enigmatic of players in the Power Play Show today at 17.00 UK / 18.00 CET / 21.30 Mumbai

White to play. How did Khan create winning chances from this position?

 

This week

To chat, please visit videos.chessbase.com/live or login via Playchess for Windows

Live Fridays, at 17:00 UTC / 18:00 CET / Noon EST


Previous shows

You'll find older broadcasts in the Power Play category. To watch these you'll need a ChessBase Premium Account.


Daniel King is the prolific author of the PowerPlay series which numbers 27 volumes to date. The subject of his most recent DVD is "The King's Gambit"

Here's a teaser:


Power Play 27: The King's Gambit

Glorious sacrifices, unexpected tactics and checkmating attacks. The King's Gambit is one of the oldest and most romantic openings in the game of chess. This DVD contains all you need to know to tackle your opponent.


Links



Daniel King is a regular on playchess.com. Commentating on live events such as the World Championship or analysing themes for his monthly Power Play Show. He also produces a DVD series called Power Play for ChessBase in the Fritztrainer format.