Pähtz/Korbut, Harikrishna/Zhao poised for victory

by ChessBase
11/29/2004 – The Junior World Championships in Cochin, India, is in it final stages. Pental Harikrishna and Zhao Jun lead in the boys' section – with amazing 9½ out of 12. In the girls' section the gold medal will go to either Elisabeth Pähtz (picture) or Ekaterina Korbut. Last round tomorrow...

ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024 ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024

It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy the game even more.


Junior World Championships

The 43rd World Junior and 21st World Junior Girls Championship start at Casino Hotel, Cochin, India on Thursday, 18th November 2004 at 12 Noon, and will last till 1st December 2004.

This world mega event will be a 13 Round affair. Already 108 players from different countries confirmed their participation.

Previous report on the event

After 12 rounds of the Junior World Championship in Cochin we see India's Pentala Harikrishna and China's Zhao Jun in the lead – with an incredible score of 9½ points each.

Standings after round 12
1 2 GM Harikrishna P (IND) 2612 IND
2 12 Zhao Jun (CHN) 2511 CHN
3 4 GM Petrosian Tigran L. (ARM) 2539 ARM 9
4 3 GM Alekseev Evgeny V. (RUS) 2604 RUS 8
5 1 GM Berkes Ferenc (HUN) 2630 HUN 8
6 5 IM Wojtaszek Radoslaw (POL) 2536 POL 8
7 13 GM Drozdovsky Yuri (UKR) 2510 UKR 8
8 18 IM Moradiabadi Elshan (IRI) 2445 IRI 8

In the girls' section Germany's U18 world champion Elisabeth Pähtz is in the lead, together with Ekaterina Korbut of Russia. Both won their round 12 games and thus have a commanding lead. We only have the standing after eleven rounds.

Sanding after round 11
1 2 WGM Paehtz Elisabeth (GER) 2398 GER
2 1 WGM Korbut Ekaterina (RUS) 2400 RUS
3 6 WIM Eesha Karavade (IND) 2307 IND
4 4 WGM Ushenina Anna (UKR) 2370 UKR
5 7 Zhang Jilin (CHN) 2287 CHN
6 12 Majdan Joanna (POL) 2219 POL 7
7 20 Saheli Nath (IND) 2130 IND
8 18 WFM Siti Zulaikha (MAS) 2162 MAS
9 10 WFM Vinuthna N. (IND) 2229 IND
10 16 Nadig Kruttika (IND) 2182 IND
11 9 WIM Sachdev Tania (IND) 2256 IND
12 13 WIM Bensdorp Marties (NED) 2214 NED
13 17 WFM Perez R. Jennifer (CUB) 2162 CUB

The final round begins tomorrow (Tuesday) at 10 a.m. Indian time, which translates to 04:30h GMT, 05:30h Central European Time and 11:30 p.m. on Monday night in New York.

Picture Gallery

WGM Elisabeth Pähtz, U-18 world champion from Germany

A girl in the men's section: Indian GMs Koneru Humpy and Pentala Harikrishna

Leading (with Pähtz) in the girls' section: WGM Ekaterina Korbut, Russia

One of India's greatest chess talents: GM Koneru Humpy

In great form: WIM Eesha Karavade of India

WFM Alina Motoc of Romania

Dressed to kill: Elli Pähtz (right) in action against Eesha Karavade

Leading in the boys' section: India's Pentala Harikrishna

The playing hall at the Junior World Championship in Cochin

A trip to the famous backwaters of Kerala

A trip on a boat through the backwaters is a must for any visitor

Previous junior world champions

Year Venue Boys Girls
2004 Cochin, India
2003 Nakchievan Mamedyarov, Shakh. Azerbaijan Nana Dzandze Georgia
2002 Goa, India Levon Aronian Armenia Xue Zhao China
2001 Athens Peter Acs Hungary Humpy Koneru India
2000 Yerevan Lazaro Bruzon Cuba Xu Yuanyuan China
1999 Yerevan Alexander Galkin Russia Maria Kouvatsou Greece
1998 Calicut, India Darmen Sadvakasov Kazakhstan Hoang Thang Trang Vietnam
1997 Zagan Tal Shaked USA Harriet Hunt England
1996 Medellin Emil Sutovskij Israel Zhu Chen China
1995 Halle Roman Slobodjan Germany Nino Khurtsidze Georgia
1994 Caioba Helgi Gretarsson Iceland Zhu Chen China
1993 Calicut, India Igor Miladinovic Yugoslavia Nino Khurtsidze Georgia
1992 Buenos Aires Pablo Zarnicki Argentina Krystina Dabrowska Poland
1991 Mamaja Vladimir Akopian Armenia Natasa Bojkovic Yugoslavia
1990 Santiago Ilya Gurevich USA Ketevan Kakhiani USSR
1989 Tunja Vasil Spasov Bulgaria Ketevan Kakhiani USSR
1988 Adelaide Joel Lautier France Alisa Galliamova USSR
1987 Bagujo Viswanathan Anand India
1986 Causdal Walter Arenciba Cuba Ketevan Arakhamia USSR
1985 Dubai Maxim Dlugy USA
1984 Kiljava Curt Hansen Denmark
1983 Belfort Kiril Georgiuev Bulgaria
1982 Copenhagen Andrey Sokolov USSR
1981 Mexico Ognjen Cvitan Yugoslavia
1980 Dortmund Garry Kasparov USSR
1979 Skien Yasser Seirawan USA
1978 Graz Sergey Dolmatov USSR
1977 Innsbruck Artur Yusupov USSR
1976 Groningen Mark Diesen USA
1975 Tjentiste Valery Chekhov USSR
1974 Manila Anthony Miles England
1973 Tesside Alexander Beliavsky USSR
1971 Athens Werner Hug Switzerland
1969 Stoccolma Anatoly Karpov USSR
1967 Jerusalem Julio Kaplan Puerto Rico
1965 Barcelona Bojan Kurajica Yugoslavia
1963 Belgrado Florin Gheorghiu Romania
1961 L'Aia Bruno Parma Yugoslavia
1959 Muenchestein Carlos Bielicky Argentina
1957 Canada William Lombardy USA
1955 Amberes Boris Spassky USSR
1953 Copenhagen Oscar Panno Argentina
1951 Birmingham Boris Ivkov Yugoslavia

Full information, results, games and standings may be found at the official web site.

Reports about chess: tournaments, championships, portraits, interviews, World Championships, product launches and more.


Rules for reader comments


Not registered yet? Register