Man vs Machine double bill on Playchess.com

4/30/2002 – On May first 2002 we have a special treat for you – after you get back from the Labour Day rally. At 18:00 GMT "Computer killer" Alexei Dreev will play a full-length tournament game against an especially tuned version of Deep Junior 7. And at 19:30 GMT Deep Junior will be replaying its annulled game agains Ilya Smirin in the special ChessBase-Kasparov Chess event. Two high quality games against top GMs. Join many hundreds in the action-packed Playchess server coverage. More

ChessBase 14 Download ChessBase 14 Download

Everyone uses ChessBase, from the World Champion to the amateur next door. Start your personal success story with ChessBase 14 and enjoy your chess even more!


Along with the ChessBase 14 program you can access the Live Database of 8 million games, and receive three months of free ChesssBase Account Premium membership and all of our online apps! Have a look today!

More...

GMs Alexej Dreev and Ilya Smirin vs Deep Junior

On May 1st 2002 there will be two very interesting man vs machine games on the Playchess server:

  • At 18:00 GMT (= 20:00 h Paris/Berlin, 19:00 h London, 2 p.m. New York) top GM Alexei Dreev will play a full-length tournament game against an especially tuned version of Deep Junior 7.

  • At 19:30 GMT (= 21:30 h Paris/Berlin, 20:30 h London, 3:30 p.m. New York) Deep Junior will replay its annulled game agains Ilya Smirin in the special ChessBase-Kasparov Chess event.

The games will be covered on the Fritz 7 (Playchess.com) server and in the playing zone of Kasparovchess.com. If you want to watch the live action, discuss the games as they unfold with people all over the world, you will need the Fritz or Shredder program. Or you can download a free ten-day client.

Alexei Dreev is the current world's no. 19 player and author of the ChessBase training CD on the Meran Variation D47-D49. Alexei is considered a computer killer. In his previous games against top programs he has scored 4:1 points.

His opponent is the current world multi-processor computer world champion Deep Junior, running on a Diversimex Computer, Dual PIII 2 x 1GHz with 1.5 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk (1x120, 1x100, 2x80, 2x60 GB). Operating system: Windows XP. Openings book: 8.372.672 Bytes, endgame tablebases (2-5 men): 7.05 GB.

The tournament machine is owned by Martin Müller (left), a computer chess fan who plays a lot with his machine on the Internet (handle: Smurskie), Martin is 48 and lives in Zurich, Switzerland, and has staged a number of public matches against strong GMs. For the Dreev game he will use a special 8 MB openings book especially compiled for the event.

These are the results Martin has achieved with his super computer:

Time controls 120 min + 10 min rest
10.09.01 Deep Junior 7-GM Pablo Zarnicki (ARG) 1-0
04.07.01 Deep Junior 7-GM Alexey Dreev (RUS) draw
30.05.01 Deep Shredder 5-GM Alexey Dreev (RUS) draw
05.08.01 Deep Fritz -GM Pablo Zarnicki (ARG) draw
01.08.01 Deep Fritz-GM Alexey Dreev (RUS) 0-1
16.03.01 Shredder 5-GM Pablo Zarnicki (ARG) draw
04.03.01 Shredder 5-GM Pablo Zarnicki (ARG) 1-0
26.12.01 Shredder 6-GM James Plaskett 0-1
17.02.01 Shredder 5-GM Alexey Dreev (RUS) 0-1
21.02.01 Shredder 5 -GM Alexey Dreev (RUS) 0-1

Time controls 60 min + 30 min rest
16.08.01 DF -GM Sergej Volkov (RUS) draw

Time controls 60 min + 0 min rest
26.05.01 Deep Fritz-GM Pablo Zarnicki(ARG) 1-0
26.05.01 Deep Fritz-GM Pablo Zarnicki(ARG) draw


Discussion and Feedback Join the public discussion or submit your feedback to the editors


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register