Goldmoney Asian Rapid Finals - Aronian first, Carlsen third

by ChessBase
7/4/2021 – Levon Aronian had a short day at the office, as he scored back-to-back wins against Vladislav Artemiev to secure first place at the Goldmoney Asian Rapid tournament. Meanwhile, Ding Liren bounced back from his loss in the first set by remarkably beating Magnus Carlsen 3-0 in the second mini-match. However, it was the world champion who prevailed in the blitz tiebreakers to take third place. | Full report to follow shortly.

ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024 ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024

It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy the game even more.


Finals - Day 2

The Goldmoney Asian Rapid is the seventh leg of the Meltwater Champions Chess and is being played from June 26 until July 4. Vladislav Artemiev and Levon Aronian meet in the finals after knocking out rating favourites Ding Liren and Magnus Carlsen respectively. 

In the knockout stage, each encounter will be decided over two days. On day, 1 there will be four rapid games, and if the match ends 2-2 it will simply be a draw. On day 2, another 4-game match will be held. If both matches are drawn, or the players have traded wins, then shortly after the second match there will be a playoff: two blitz games followed, if needed, by Armageddon.

The tournament features a $100,000 prize fund, with $30,000 for first place. The time control is 15 minutes for all moves, with a 10-second increment from move 1. No draw offers are allowed before move 40.

Tour points and prize money

Goldmoney Asian Rapid Chess 2021

Click to enlarge

Live games and commentary


Replay all the games with machine commentary at the ChessBase Live Replay Page

Commentary by Daniel King and Tania Sachdev

Final standings - Preliminaries

Rk. Name Pts.  TB1 
1 Aronian Levon 10,5 0,0
2 Artemiev Vladislav 10,0 0,0
3 Ding Liren 9,5 0,0
4 Carlsen Magnus 9,0 0,5
5 So Wesley 9,0 0,5
6 Duda Jan-Krzysztof 8,0 2,0
7 Giri Anish 8,0 2,0
8 Erigaisi Arjun 8,0 1,5
9 Firouzja Alireza 8,0 0,5
10 Vidit Santosh Gujrathi 7,0 0,0
11 Svidler Peter 6,5 0,5
12 Gukesh D 6,5 0,5
13 Dubov Daniil 6,0 0,0
14 Salem A.R. Saleh 5,5 0,0
15 Adhiban B. 5,0 0,0
16 Hou Yifan 3,5 0,0


Reports about chess: tournaments, championships, portraits, interviews, World Championships, product launches and more.


Rules for reader comments


Not registered yet? Register