Gashimov Memorial Rapid & Blitz - Live

by ChessBase
12/23/2022 – The Vugar Gashimov Memorial 2022, organized once again as a rapid and blitz tournament, is taking place on December 18-23 in Baku, Azerbaijan. On Sunday, the ten participants are playing the first three rounds of the 15+10 rapid event — four Azerbaijanis, led by superstar Shakhriyar Mamedyarov, are competing with six guests from around the world. | Follow the games live, starting at 12.00 CET (6.00 ET, 16.30 IST)

ChessBase 17 - Mega package ChessBase 17 - Mega package

ChessBase is a personal, stand-alone chess database that has become the standard throughout the world. Everyone uses ChessBase, from the World Champion to the amateur next door. It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it.

More...

Blitz: Rounds 10-18

The tournament is organized similarly to the rapid and blitz events of the Grand Chess Tour. With ten participants, three rounds of rapid are played daily on the first three days of competition (points count double). After a rest day, two days of blitz follow, with nine rounds played daily in a double round-robin.

Schedule

  • December 18-20: Rapid
  • December 21: Rest day
  • December 22-23: Blitz

Live games

 
 

Live Commentary


Master Class Vol.15 - Viktor Korchnoi

In this video course, experts (Pelletier, Marin, Müller and Reeh) examine the games of Viktor Korchnoi. Let them show you which openings Korchnoi chose to play, where his strength in middlegames were, or how he outplayed his opponents in the endgame.


Current standings - Blitz

 

Final standings - Rapid (win = 2 pts; draw = 1 pt)

 

Links


Reports about chess: tournaments, championships, portraits, interviews, World Championships, product launches and more.
Discussion and Feedback Submit your feedback to the editors