Collect or consolidate?

8/19/2011 – In this endgame from the Russian Superfinal White here took on e6 with the rook and thus refrained from 37.a3 (diagram) which would have given Black the option of playing 37...Rxc5 38.bxc5 d3. With what result, in your opinion? A) victory for Black; B) perpetual check after mutual promotion; C) victory for White. The solution is here, but first ponder over it with a larger version of the diagram.

ChessBase 16 - Mega package Edition 2021 ChessBase 16 - Mega package Edition 2021

Your key to fresh ideas, precise analyses and targeted training!
Everyone uses ChessBase, from the World Champion to the amateur next door. It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy the game even more.

More...

Collect or consolidate?

In this endgame from the Russian Superfinal White here took on e6 with the rook and thus refrained from 37.a3 (diagram) which would have given Black the option of playing 37...Rxc5 38.bxc5 d3. With what result, in your opinion?

A) victory for Black;
B) perpetual check after mutual promotion;
C) victory for White.

Solution


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register