Anna Ushenina wins the first leg of the Women's Speed Chess Grand Prix

by ChessBase
6/29/2020 – Anna Ushenina, the classical World Champion in 2012, defeated Valentina Gunina in the final, leaving the score 7-4 in her favor. The Ukrainian outplayed her rival and was a deserved winner: a better opening preparation gave her the upper hand in most of the games, and she was also more accurate. Taking an early lead in the match was also an important factor that conditioned the rest of the final. | Photo: Anna Ushenina (UKR) by David Llada

ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024 ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024

It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy the game even more.


Women's Speed Chess Grand Prix

Press Release by the FIDE, June 28, 2020

Valentina was in general faster, as it is characteristic of her. But speed alone was not enough to decide this match and, in fact, none of the games was decided by the clock. Only in the last of the 3+1 games, when the Russian seemed to be gaining momentum, the comeback looked possible, but in a dramatic turn of events, a mouse slip when she was delivering checkmate in one move made her blunder her Queen instead. After this blow, the remaining games became almost irrelevant.

This is the leaderboard after the first of the four Grand Prix tournaments:

GM Anna Ushenina


12 GP points 

GM Valentina Gunina


8 GP points 

GM Alexandra Kosteniuk


6 GP points 

WIM Vaishali Rameshbabu 


5 GP points 

GM Katerina Lagno


2 GP points 

GM Ju Wenjun


2 GP points 

WIM Munkhzul Turmunkh


2 GP points 

WGM Le Thao Nguyen Pham


2 GP points 

The games of the Grand Prix events are played on the Live Server, at All matches are broadcast live with chess-master commentary on

Valentina Gunina (Russia). Photo: David Llada

"Need for speed"

In this thrilling and innovative event, the players face each other under three different time controls. First, they play under "rapid" format, where each player has 5 minutes to think, plus one second being added to her clock after each move. Then, the match continues under "blitz" format, with the time going down to 3 minutes per player, plus one second added per move. Finally, the match concludes with the "bullet" games, the fastest of all time controls, and very popular in online games: the players have only 1 minute each, plus 1 second added per move. The adrenaline rush as the players have less and less time to think their moves as they get closer to the final and decisive games or their matches, and they are forced to make decisions by pure reflex, often making more than one more per second.

About the FIDE Women's Speed Chess Championship

The Grand Prix will consist of four legs, with a total of 21 participants: the 12 players who qualified through the Swiss and Playoffs, plus 9 players nominated by FIDE and

Each of the 21 players participates in three out of four Grand Prix legs.

Each Grand Prix leg is 16-players playoff, and will last five days (including one rest day after the semi-finals). The dates are June 24-28, June 31-July 4, July 7-11, and July 14-18.

All matches in each Grand Prix leg are divided into three segments:

30-minute segment of matches with time control 5 minutes + 1 second per move
30-minute segment of matches with time control 3 minutes + 1 second per move
10-minute segment of matches with time control 1 minute + 1 second per move

In each Grand Prix leg, every player scores GP cumulative points according to her position in the final standings (for details, please check full tournament regulations on the FIDE website). The two players who score the most number of GP cumulative points in all three Grand Prix legs qualify for WSCC Super Final.

Each one of the Grand Prix legs has a total prize fund of 10,300 USD, with 3,000 going to the winner.

WSCC Super Final

The two best players of Grand Prix will play the Women's Speed Chess Championship Super Final match on the International Chess Day, July 20th, at 7am PDT.

The match will be divided into three segments:

90-minute segment of matches with time control 5 minutes + 1 second per move.
60-minute segment of matches with time control 3 minutes + 1 second per move.
30-minute segment of matches with time control 1 minute + 1 second per move.

Games that start but "run over" the overall countdown clock count towards the final score. The player who accumulates the most cumulative points wins the match.

The final has a prize fund of 10.000 USD, with 6,500 going to the winner, and 3,500 to the runner up. These amounts are free of taxes.


Reports about chess: tournaments, championships, portraits, interviews, World Championships, product launches and more.


Rules for reader comments


Not registered yet? Register