Your judgement, please

7/2/2009 – The bishop sac on h7 (h2) to rip open the enemy's king position is a classical motif in chess. Sometimes it is good, sometimes it isn't - but one always has to be aware of it. And what is the case after 13.Nxc4 here? A) Black wins easily, after all he's not got only one bishop, has he? B) The sac is correct, however, victory requires yet a 'silent hammer blow'. C) As good as it might look, the strike backfires; with cool defence White gets the advantage. The solution is for replay here or as video sample from Kings Powerplay 1 DVD. Hint: first ponder over it with a larger version of the diagram.

ChessBase 14 Download ChessBase 14 Download

Everyone uses ChessBase, from the World Champion to the amateur next door. Start your personal success story with ChessBase 14 and enjoy your chess even more!


Along with the ChessBase 14 program you can access the Live Database of 8 million games, and receive three months of free ChesssBase Account Premium membership and all of our online apps! Have a look today!

More...



Discussion and Feedback Join the public discussion or submit your feedback to the editors


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register