Your judgement, please

6/5/2009 – In our weekly column, Oliver Reeh presents a simple chess problem in our CBM Blog. In the diagram left – White to move after 24...Qd6 – which of the following evaluations of the position is correct? A) Black wins, since he conquers the pinned knight; B) White has a sacrificial continuation which, however, only secures him a draw; C) White actually wins. You will find the solution in this annotated game Degraeve-Belezky. You can think about the problem by studying a lager version of the diagram.

ChessBase 14 Download ChessBase 14 Download

Everyone uses ChessBase, from the World Champion to the amateur next door. Start your personal success story with ChessBase 14 and enjoy your chess even more!


Along with the ChessBase 14 program you can access the Live Database of 8 million games, and receive three months of free ChesssBase Account Premium membership and all of our online apps! Have a look today!

More...

In the diagram - White to move after 24...Qd6 - which of the following evaluations of the position is correct?
A) Black wins, since he conquers the pinned knight.
B) White has a sacrificial continuation which, however, only secures him a draw
C) White even wins.

Solution (game Degraeve-Belezky)


Discussion and Feedback Join the public discussion or submit your feedback to the editors


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register