Women's World Championship 2020 - Ju wins tiebreak

by ChessBase
1/24/2020 – The Women's World Chess Championship was decided by tie-breaks! Ju Wenjun won the third of four rapid games which was enough to retain her World Champions title. The final regulation game was a must-win for the challenger Goryachkina and she delivered, sending the match to rapid tiebreaks in Vladivostock tomorrow at 5:30 UTC (6:30 CET, 12:30 AM EST) with commentary by GM Nigel Short & GM Hou Yifan. | Photo: Eteri Kublashvili (FIDE / official site)

ChessBase 15 - Mega package ChessBase 15 - Mega package

Find the right combination! ChessBase 15 program + new Mega Database 2020 with 8 million games and more than 80,000 master analyses. Plus ChessBase Magazine (DVD + magazine) and CB Premium membership for 1 year!

More...

Tiebreak

Aleksandra Goryachkina of Russia won the 12th game of the World Championship match against the reigning champion Ju Wenjun, leaving the score 6:6 and forcing a rapid and (if necessary) blitz tiebreak.

In the tiebreak, the first two games were drawn, but the World Champion struck in the third game with white, then narrowly held on for a draw with black to win the match and retain her title.


All stories on the Women's World Championship


Match standings

 

Click or tap any result to open directly via Live.ChessBase.com

Live games and commentary

The tiebreak begins in Vladivostok at 15:30 local time, which is 6:30 CET and 12:30 AM EST and consists of four 25 minute (plus 10 seconds per move) rapid games, followed, if necessary, by up to five sets of blitz games (5+3) and, if these still fail to break the stand-off and Armageddon game.

 

Commentary by GM Nigel Short & WFM Eteri Kublashvili


All games

 

Links



Reports about chess: tournaments, championships, portraits, interviews, World Championships, product launches and more.