Webster University wins President's Cup

by André Schulz
3/31/2015 – For the third time in a row Webster University won the College Chess Final Four championship, also known as "President's Cup". With their strong team of Liem Le, Ray Robson, Illia Nyzhnyk, Vasif Durarbayli, Fidel Corrales Jimenez, and Andre Diamant Webster University was clear favorite. The team did not disappoint and won convincingly.

ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024 ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024

It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy the game even more.


This year the College Chess Final Four championship was played in the New York Athletic Cup. And to avoid time trouble with the US Championship that starts on March 31st in St. Louis the university teams played one week earlier than usual.

The three teams that tried to prevent Webster from winning their third title in as many years were Texas Tech, University of Maryland Baltimore County, and University of Texas in Dallas. But Webster clearly dominated the championship. They won all three matches, scored nine wins, conceded four draws, and did not lose a single game.

The Webster team during preparation

Tournament direction

The Final Four championship is played as a round-robin. Each of the four teams plays a match on four boards against the other three teams. Traditionally, two of these matches take place on Saturday, and on Sunday the nominally two best teams meet for the last match. This time the four teams could boast of no less than 17 grandmasters altogether.

Ray Robson


Round 1

Webster 3.5 - 0.5 UMBC

Niclas Huschenbeth vs Liem Le ½-½
Ray Robson vs Tanguy Ringoir 1-0
Akshayraj Kore vs Illya Nyzhnyk 0-1
Yasif Durarbayli vs Levan Bregadze 1-0


Holt, Conrad vs Gorovets, Andrey 1-0
Margvelashvili, Giorgi vs Zherebukh, Yaroslav ½-½
Moradiabadi, Elshan vs. Kritz, Leonid ½-½
Shoker, Samy vs. Berczes, David 1-0

Round 2

Webster 3.5: 0.5 UTD

Liem Le vs George Margvelashvili 1-0
Leonid Kritz vs Ray Robson 0-1
Illya Nyzhnyk vs Conrad Holt ½-½
Valentin Yotov vs Yasif Durarbayli 0-1

TTU 2,5 - 1,5 UMBC

Zherebukh, Yaroslav vs Huschenbeth, Niclas 1-0
Ringoir, Tanguy vs Moradiabadi, Elshan ½-½
Gorovets, Andrey vs Akshayraj, Kore 0-1
Bregadze, Levan vs Shoker, Samy 1-0

Round 3

Webster 3:1 TTU

Liem Le vs Yaroslav Zherebukh 1-0
Elshan Moradiabadi vs Ray Robson ½-½
Illya Nyzhnyk vs Andrey Gorovets ½-½
Samy Shoker vs Yasif Durarbayli 0-1


Huschenbeth, Niclas vs Margvelashvili, Giorgi 1-0
Kritz, Leonid vs Ringoir, Tanguy 1-0
Akshayraj, Kore vs Holt, Conrad 0-1
Kadric, Denis vs Bregadze, Levan 1-0



Final results:




The winning team


Pictures: Susan Polgar, Paul Truong

Susan Polgar's website...



André Schulz started working for ChessBase in 1991 and is an editor of ChessBase News.


Rules for reader comments


Not registered yet? Register