USSR vs. Rest of the World, Round 4 - Live, with commentary

by ChessBase
4/2/2020 – The ten best players of the Soviet Union play against the ten best players from the "Rest of the World". Today we will see the decisive fourth and last round. After three rounds the Soviet team leads 15.5-14.5. Live transmission of the games starts at 17.00 pm CEST (11.00 EDT, 15.00 UTC). With commentary by IM Merijn van Delft.

Master Class Vol.1: Bobby Fischer Master Class Vol.1: Bobby Fischer

No other World Champion was more infamous both inside and outside the chess world than Bobby Fischer. On this DVD, a team of experts shows you the winning techniques and strategies employed by the 11th World Champion.

Grandmaster Dorian Rogozenco delves into Fischer’s openings, and retraces the development of his repertoire. What variations did Fischer play, and what sources did he use to arm himself against the best Soviet players? Mihail Marin explains Fischer’s particular style and his special strategic talent in annotated games against Spassky, Taimanov and other greats. Karsten Müller is not just a leading international endgame expert, but also a true Fischer connoisseur.

More...

The "Match of the Century" is played on ten boards. The ten best players from the Soviet Union – including former World Champions Mikhail Botvinnik, Vassily Smyslov, Mihail Tal and Tigran Petrosian and current World Champion Boris Spassky – play against the ten best players from the "Rest of the World".

The venue is the Dom Sindikat in Belgrade. Four rounds will be played. Round four starts at 17:00 local time.

Games

 

Live commentary by Merijn van Delft

Links



Reports about chess: tournaments, championships, portraits, interviews, World Championships, product launches and more.

Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register