Game of the Week: The Tata Steel Challengers

by Merijn van Delft
1/23/2019 – Ideas and strategies in Grandmaster games can be quite instructive. IM Merijn van Delft presents games like these every Wednesday at 19:00 UTC (20:00 CET, 2 pm EST). On this week's show: The Tata Steel Chess Challengers. The live show is free to watch, and available on-demand for ChessBase Premium account holders (but FREE for a limited time!). To chat, please visit videos.chessbase.com/live or login via Playchess for Windows.

The Sicilian Dragon Vol. 1: Main Line with 9.Bc4 The Sicilian Dragon Vol. 1: Main Line with 9.Bc4

Volume one of the DVD deals with 9.Bc4, White's sharpest option, and shows how Black can counter this ambitious try by White with the main lines of the Soltis variation (12.h5), which was played by Magnus Carlsen regularly as well.

More...

Week 4

The live show is free to watch, and available on-demand for ChessBase Premium account holders.

Tonight we'll revisit the exciting Challengers group in Wijk aan Zee and see who is in pole position for the final weekend. We'll see what happens today in the tenth round and then pick the most exciting game.

As a warm-up question: What would you play here with White?

 

White to move


This week's show

To chat, please visit videos.chessbase.com/live or login via Playchess for Windows

Merijn is live at 19:00 UTC (20:00 CET, 2 pm EDT)


Watch previous shows


Recent shows

Many more Game of the Week shows are available in ChessBase Videos

Links




Merijn van Delft is an International Master from the Netherlands who lived in Hamburg for many years and is currently based in Amsterdam. After scoring a GM norm in 2017 he is eager for more. His ChessBase show on Wednesday evenings has been running for over ten years now.
Discussion and Feedback Join the public discussion or submit your feedback to the editors


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register