The Game of the Week

by Merijn van Delft
10/3/2018 – Ideas and strategies in Grandmaster games can be quite instructive. IM Merijn van Delft presents games like these every Wednesday at 20:00 CEST (19:00 UT, 2 pm EDT). On this week's show: More excitement at the Olympiad! Featuring Peter Leko vs Maxme Vachier-Lagrave in a Najdorf Sicilian.

The complex Najdorf The complex Najdorf

When choosing an opening repertoire, there are days when you want to play for a win with Black, when you want to bear down on your opponent’s position with a potentially crushing attack. The Najdorf is perfect for just such occasions – and it’s no coincidence that Garry Kasparov played it the most out of all the variations in the Sicilian – the opening served him well throughout his brilliant career. Strategy, combinations, attack and defence, sacrifices and marvellous manoeuvres – exciting chess is all about the Najdorf!

More...

Excitement at the Olympiad - Part 2

It's tough choice between many attractive games. Most impressive was Caruana's win against Mamedyarov. In the end I decided we'll have a look at Vachier-Lagrave's magic in the Najdorf against Leko. Here's a sneek peak:

 

Try out your idea against the engine


This week's show

The live show is free to watch, and available on-demand for ChessBase Premium account holders.

To chat, please visit videos.chessbase.com/live or login via Playchess for Windows

Merijn is live at 20:00 CEST (18:00 UT, 2 pm EDT), right after Power Play with GM Daniel King


Watch previous shows


Recent shows

Many more Game of the Week shows are available in ChessBase Videos

Links




Merijn van Delft is an International Master from the Netherlands who lived in Hamburg for many years and is currently based in Amsterdam. After scoring a GM norm in 2017 he is eager for more. His ChessBase show on Wednesday evenings has been running for over ten years now.
Discussion and Feedback Join the public discussion or submit your feedback to the editors


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register