Shamkir Chess 2019: Round 9

4/9/2019 – By winning his fifth game in Shamkir, Magnus Carlsen, who had already won the tournament, finished with a stratospheric 7/9 score, a full two points ahead of his nearest rivals. Carlsen's Elo performance was nearly 3000! Wow! All other games were drawn. | Games and video from 11:00 UTC (12:00 CEST / 6 AM EDT) and daily round-up show at 20:00 UTC (21:00 CEST / 3 PM EDT)

ChessBase Account Premium annual subscription ChessBase Account Premium annual subscription

At the airport, in the hotel or at home on your couch: with the new ChessBase you always have access to the whole ChessBase world: the new ChessBase video library, tactics server, opening training App, the live database with eight million games, Let’s Check and web access to playchess.com

More...

Round 9

World Champion Magnus Carlsen heads the field in the 6th edition of the Shamkir Chess tournament in memory of Vugar Gashimov, a 10-player round-robin  from March 31st to April 9th. He'll be joined by Ding Liren, Anish Giri, Shakhriyar Mamedyarov, Viswanathan Anand, Alexander Grischuk, Teimour Radjabov, Sergey Karjakin, Veselin Topalov and David Navara.

Round-up show

The tournament is once again a 10-player round-robin and sports a total prize fund of €100,000, with €30,000 for first place. The time control is a leisurely 120 minutes for the first 40 moves, 60 minutes for the next 20 moves and then 15 minutes for the rest of the game, with a 30 seconds per move increment starting from move 61.


Round 8: Carlsen clinches


Live games and commentary

 

Current standings

 

Round-up show

IM Lawrence Trent reviews the highlights of the eigth round
All round-up shows from videos.chessbase.com


Results of Round 8

 

Players

Magnus Carlsen is back for the fourth time. In his three previous visits to Shamkir he has left with the winner's trophy each time. (Mamedyarov won the other two.)

The players list closely resembles the 2018 roster, but now has six members of the world's Top 10, with Vishy Anand replacing Radoslaw Wojtaszek while Rauf Mammadov is traded up for Alexander Grischuk — making his Shamkir debut. So, there will be a former World Champion and a host of challengers and candidates joining the current World Champion!

Rank Name Elo
1 Carlsen, Magnus 2845
2 Ding, Liren 2812
3 Giri, Anish 2797
4 Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar 2790
5 Anand, Viswanathan 2779
6 Grischuk, Alexander 2771
7 Radjabov, Teimour 2756
8 Karjakin, Sergey 2753
9 Topalov, Veselin 2740
10 Navara, David 2739

players

The 2019 field

Schedule

Round 1: March 31st, 13:00 CEST (7:00 AM EDT)
Round 2: April 1st, 13:00 CEST (7:00 AM EDT)
Round 3: April 2nd, 13:00 CEST (7:00 AM EDT)
Round 4: April 3rd, 13:00 CEST (7:00 AM EDT)
Round 5: April 4th, 13:00 CEST (7:00 AM EDT)
Rest day: April 5th
Round 6: April 6th, 13:00 CEST (7:00 AM EDT)
Round 7: April 7th, 13:00 CEST (7:00 AM EDT)
Round 8: April 8th, 13:00 CEST (7:00 AM EDT)
Round 9: April 9th, 12:00 CEST (6:00 AM EDT)

Venue

Shamkir is the eighth largest city in Azerbaijan, about 40 kilometres northwest of Ganja — the location of the nearest airport.

Links



Discussion and Feedback Join the public discussion or submit your feedback to the editors


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register

FAISL FAISL 6/28/2019 11:11
Loans and international Financing available between US$500,000,00 -900,000,000.00.

Below are the requirements for such Loans

*4% Interest rate
*Requirements for Lease Finance
*Application form and letter/completions of our KYC FORM alongside the feasibility study of your project summary.
*Approval within 48 hours
*Presentations of Loans Term sheet and our model personal repayments guarantee.
*Pro-forma invoice
* Board resolution/meetings and funds release.

For any inquiries, please call or email us:
+4420 338 99441 | fais@fais-inc.com
Website:https://www.fais-inc.com/| Blog: https://faisinc.home.blog/
fais-inc.blogspot.com
jonkm jonkm 4/9/2019 10:20
Well there is a "psych" aspect when he wins so much, the opponents play weaker than usual, imo. Giri was playing poorly even before he faced Magnus.
Green22 Green22 4/9/2019 07:44
Carlen is already in his opponents heads before they even sit down. Giri especially.

Fischer was the same way clear dominance before they make the first move.
Daniel Miller Daniel Miller 4/9/2019 06:46
Mr. Stillwater. Most chessplayers only recognize the 16 classical World Champions from Steinitz to Carlsen.
pparimi pparimi 4/9/2019 06:29
What a performance! Kudos Carlsen! With this win Carlsen has sealed his dominance in the chess world. If anyone has doubt whether Carlsen is stronger than Kasparov, check the tournament wins and ratings. Numbers don't lie. His performance has been much better than that of Kasparov's. Whether Carlsen is stronger than Fisher is a question to ponder.
PEB216 PEB216 4/9/2019 04:21
To defeat Karjakin, Grischuk, Navara, Anand, and Giri in a single tournament is as amazing as Giri losing three games and winning none.
thirteen thirteen 4/9/2019 12:48
Fair, clear and magnificently sustained commentary. This guy should produce Chessbase DVD's by the MILLION!
macauley macauley 4/7/2019 06:17
@tigerprowl3 - The pairings for all rounds are available at live.chessbase.com
tigerprowl3 tigerprowl3 4/7/2019 05:29
Can you please post the pairings for the rounds?
mrstillwater mrstillwater 4/1/2019 10:02
"So, there will be a former World Champion and a host of challengers and candidates joining the current World Champion!" Two former world champions, surely?
Nekthen Nekthen 3/31/2019 02:17
They too cheap to get a commentary team?
1