Sarunas Sulskis wins 96th edition of the Hastings Masters

by Klaus Besenthal
1/7/2023 – Lithuanian grandmaster Sarunas Sulskis was the only player, out of the 95 participants, to achieve an 8/10 score at the 96th edition of the traditional Hastings Masters. In second to fourth place finished Bence Korpa (Hungary), Oleg Korneev (Spain) and Mark Hebden (England), each with 7½/10. Rating favourite Romain Edouard (France) finished fifth on 7/10. | Photo: Official site

ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024 ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024

It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy the game even more.


Patience pays off

Before the final round, Bence Korpa, Sarunas Sulskis and Oleg Korneev each had 7/9 points, but in round 10 Sulskis was the only one to score a full point.

In the game against the Russian grandmaster Alexander Cherniaev, who now plays for England, Sulskis patiently made the most of his space advantage as he only struck when the time was right.


Power Play Vol.23 and 24

On this DVD, Grandmaster Daniel King offers you a repertoire for Black with the QGD and against the Catalan. The repertoire is demonstrated in 20 stem games, covering all White's major systems.

Final standings

Rk. Name  TB1 
1 Sulskis Sarunas 8
2 Korpa Bence 7,5
  Korneev Oleg 7,5
  Hebden Mark L 7,5
5 Edouard Romain 7
  Petrov Martin 7
  Clarke Brandon Gi 7
  Gormally Daniel W 7
  Murphy Conor E 7
  Kueppers Timo 7
11 Nagy Gabor 6,5
  Grieve Harry 6,5
  Davies Nigel R 6,5
  Lalic Bogdan 6,5
  Cherniaev Alexander 6,5
  Bazakutsa Svyatoslav 6,5
  Pollack Oscar 6,5
  Golding James 6,5
19 Golding Alex 6
  Chan Kim Yew 6
  Anand Batsukh 6
  Latzke Boris 6
  Hryshchenko Kamila 6
  Walker Martin G 6
  Ismail Mohammed Aayan 6

...95 players

All available games



Klaus Besenthal is computer scientist, has followed and still follows the chess scene avidly since 1972 and since then has also regularly played in tournaments.