The Power Play Show

by Daniel King
10/31/2018 – Wednesday at 19:00 CEST (18:00 UT) Daniel King will go on air on playchess.com. You can watch the episode live for free. All the usual puzzles, games and instruction will be on offer, plus Daniel will be looking at games from the Chesscom Isle of Man. Puzzle and the live video...

Powerplay 26: Checkmate Challenge — essential knowledge Powerplay 26: Checkmate Challenge — essential knowledge

Checkmate. That's the aim of the game. There are numerous ways to checkmate the enemy king, but there are common patterns that recur over and over again, and having these at our mental fingertips is essential for when we want to finish the game.

More...

Isle of Man 2018

Here's just one position you might encounter if you watch this episode of Power Play:

 

What should Nakamura play in this position and why? Try to play against the engine!


This week

To chat, please visit videos.chessbase.com/live or login via Playchess for Windows

Live at 19:00 CEST (17:00 UT / 1 pm EDT)


Previous shows

You'll find older broadcasts in the Power Play category. To watch these you'll need a ChessBase Account.


On another note, Daniel King published his 25th Powerplay DVD on "Popular Queen's Pawn Openings - A Repertoire for Black"

Here's a teaser:


Powerplay 25 Popular Queen's Pawn Openings A Repertoire For Black

On this DVD, Grandmaster Daniel King presents a repertoire for Black against the opoular queen's pawn openings such as the London System or the Trompowsky!

More...




Daniel King is a regular on playchess.com. Commentating on live events such as the World Championship or analysing themes for his monthly Power Play Show. He also produces a DVD series called Power Play for ChessBase in the Fritztrainer format.
Discussion and Feedback Join the public discussion or submit your feedback to the editors


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register