Passed pawn versus second rank

6/28/2011 – In this double rook ending both sides have their trumps. The move 41...h5-h4 (diagram position) leads to ... A) ... victory for Black; B) ... a draw; C) ... a won pawn endgame for White. The solution is here, but first ponder over it with a larger version of the diagram.

ChessBase 16 - Mega package Edition 2021 ChessBase 16 - Mega package Edition 2021

Your key to fresh ideas, precise analyses and targeted training!
Everyone uses ChessBase, from the World Champion to the amateur next door. It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy the game even more.

More...

Tactics, Openings, Endgames - Visit ChessBase Magazine Online

Passed pawn versus second rank

In this double rook ending both sides have their trumps. The move 41...h5-h4 (diagram position) leads to ...

A) ... victory for Black;
B) ... a draw;
C) ... a won pawn endgame for White.

Solution



Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register