Nihal Sarin wins Silver Lake Open

by André Schulz
7/1/2021 – Nihal Sarin was the dominant player at the Silver Lake Open: the young Indian and reigning U18 World Champion won the tournament with 8.0/9 and a rating performance of 2809. His compatriots Raunak Sadhwani and Abhimanyu Puranik won silver and bronze. | Photo: Rupali Mulick

ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024 ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024

It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy the game even more.


Nihal Sarin was the clear winner of the Silver Lake Open in Veliko Gradiste, Serbia. After seven rounds, Sarin, who celebrates his 17th birthday on 13 July, led with 6.5/7 and was a whole point ahead of the field.

But after Sarin drew against Abhimanyu Puranik in round eight, Raunak Sadhwani and Serbian veteran Branko Damljanovic again came within striking distance of Sarin. In the last round, it came to a duel between the leader and his rival Damljanovic. Sarin came to a smooth win and outplayed Damljanovic right from the opening.


On twitter Sarin commented his tournament win rather matter-of-factly.

131 players from 27 countries played in the A Open, 16 Grandmasters and 17 International Masters.

Final standings

Rk. Name  TB1 
1 Nihal Sarin 8,0
2 Sadhwani Raunak 7,0
3 Puranik Abhimanyu 7,0
4 Makhnev Denis 7,0
5 Sadikhov Ulvi 6,5
6 Ter-Sahakyan Samvel 6,5
7 Agmanov Zhandos 6,5
8 Kourkoulos-Arditis Stamatis 6,5
9 Boskovic Drasko 6,5
10 Raja Harshit 6,5
11 Sedlak Nikola 6,5
12 Vetokhin Savva 6,5
13 Damljanovic Branko 6,5
14 Radovanovic Nikola 6,0
15 Perunovic Milos 6,0
16 Mullick Raahil 6,0
17 Pasti Aron 6,0
18 Balabayeva Xeniya 6,0
19 Erdogmus Yagiz Kaan 6,0
20 Megalios Konstantinos 5,5
21 Petrosyan Manuel 5,5

131 players



In the B-Open almost 100 players took part. Aleksa Alimpic, Aleksandar Arandjelovic and FM Miodrag Jevtic shared first place with 7.5/9 points each. Alimpic won on tiebreak.


André Schulz started working for ChessBase in 1991 and is an editor of ChessBase News.


Rules for reader comments


Not registered yet? Register