Late M D Bhagwat Memorial Chess960 Online Blitz tournament this Saturday

by Shahid Ahmed
7/17/2020 – Buddhibal Kreeda Trust (BKT) under the mentorship of Prakash Kunte (father of GM Abhijit Kunte and WIM Mrunalini Kunte) has organized over 150 tournaments. After having two successful online events since April, they are be back and this time with a bigger prize fund of ₹50000. The tournament is organized in memory of Late IA Moreshwar Bhagwat. This will be their second consecutive Fischer Random (Chess960) tournament having the first prize of ₹12000. With rating category prizes and prizes for women, it's a tournament you cannot afford to miss. It will take place on Saturday 18th of July at 8 p.m. IST in Chess960 Tournaments under Thematic Chess room on Playchess. Entry is FREE for GMs, IMs, WGMs and WIMs. For everyone else Entry fee is ₹350. 50% of the entry fee will go to PM Cares fund. Registration is on. Photo: Maharashtra Chess League

Master Class Vol.1: Bobby Fischer Master Class Vol.1: Bobby Fischer

No other World Champion was more infamous both inside and outside the chess world than Bobby Fischer. On this DVD, a team of experts shows you the winning techniques and strategies employed by the 11th World Champion.

Grandmaster Dorian Rogozenco delves into Fischer’s openings, and retraces the development of his repertoire. What variations did Fischer play, and what sources did he use to arm himself against the best Soviet players? Mihail Marin explains Fischer’s particular style and his special strategic talent in annotated games against Spassky, Taimanov and other greats. Karsten Müller is not just a leading international endgame expert, but also a true Fischer connoisseur.


Buddhibal Kreeda Trust pays tribute to Late Moreshwar Bhagwat

Buddibal Kreeda Trust has been actively organizing online tournaments during this unprecedented pandemic situation. BKT has organized two events since April. An online Blitz on 14th April and a Fischer Random Blitz on 23rd May. They will organize another Fischer Random Open Blitz event which will have a total prize fund of ₹50000 with the first prize being ₹12000. The entire prize fund is sponsored by Buddhibal Kreeda Trust. And 50% of the entry collected will be donated to the PM Cares fund. Entry is free for GMs, IMs, WGMs and WIMs. For everyone else the entry fee is ₹350 and €5 for foreign participants. The event is open to players all over the world.

Mr. Moreshwar Bhagwat was a revered person | Photo: Maharashtra Chess League

Prakash Kunte, the man who started the Buddhibal Kreeda Trust, and his better half

Prakash has nurtured two of the finest talents of Indian chess - GM Abhijit Kunte and WIM Mrunalini Kunte. He is also the guiding force behind the Buddhibal Kreeda Trust (BKT).

Date: Saturday 18th July 2020

Time: 8.00 p.m. IST

Time control: 3 mins + 1 sec increment

Number of rounds: 9

Total Prize fund: ₹50000

Venue: Chess 960 Tournaments in Playchess under Thematic Chess room

Main Prizes

1st Rs 12000

Rs 8000

3rd Rs 5000
4th Rs 3000
5th Rs 2000
6th Rs 1500
7th Rs 1000
8th Rs 1000
9th Rs 800
10th Rs 700

11th - 20th Rs 600

Best Women, Rating Category 1601-1800, 1401-1600, 1201-1400, 1000-1200 and Best Unrated - Top 3 will get Rs 600, Rs 500 and Rs 400.

FIDE Standard Rating as on 1st July 2020 will be considered for Rating Category prizes, a player without a standard rating will be considered as an unrated player. One will be eligible for one higher prize only.

The entry fee for the event is ₹350 for Indians. The tournament is FREE for GMs, IMs, WGMs and WIMs. The last date for entry is 17th of July 2020 8 p.m. IST. Registration is Open.

Foreign players can pay €5 via Paypal here as their entry fee.

Titled players must write to us at with their playchess id to confirm their entry.

Players list Name Playchess ID Rating Gender
1 GM Nodirbek Abdusattorov keramin 2627 M
2 GM Mikhail Kobalia Mikhail kobalia 2614 M
3 GM Abhimanyu Puranik pabh 2584 M
4 GM D Gukesh gk06 2563 M
5 GM Jakhongir Vakhidov Uzbektiger95 2533 M
6 GM Deep Sengupta Deep Sengupta 2527 M
7 GM Visakh N R Visakh 2516 M
8 GM Harsha Bharathakoti RACEKING 2509 M
9 GM Dusan Popovic DusanPopovic 2500 M
10 IM Harshit Raja Johncking 2472 M
11 IM Volodar Murzin Murzin 2465 M
12 IM Arghyadip Das Arghyadip 2453 M
13 IM Mohammad Nubairshah Shaikh CREATOR 1198 2445 M
14 IM Rathanvel V S vsr64 2445 M
15 IM Aronyak Ghosh STRANGE 2436 M
16 IM Himal Gusain Rajdhani express 2414 M
17 GM Laxman R R LAXMAN 2411 M
18 IM Viani A Dcunha Viani A Dcunha 2397 M
19 IM S Nitin snitin 2381 M
20 CM Shahil Dey Shahildey 2376 M
21 IM Sidhant Mohapatra Sidhant 2367 M
22 IM Aleksei Kireev MaestroASK 2351 M
23 FM Ajay Karthikeyan skkeyan 2315 M
24 Raahul VS raahul vs 2259 M
25 IM Suvrajit Saha Suvrajit Saha 2198 M
26 WIM Michelle Catherina Zanta 2176 F
27 FM Ram Aravind L N lnram 2127 M
28 Rajesh Vasanthakumar RVK 1736 M
29 Jaiveer Mahendru Diamond06 1695 M
30 Nanal Arnav Tactic_Master 1631 M
31 Rakesh Kulkarni rakeshkul 1409 M
32 Padmaesh M K Mangakadu 1293 M
33 Adharsh ADHARSH_R 1179 M
34 Vasanthakumar N NVK 1138 M
35 Anjan Ganguli g_anjan11 0 M
36 Archit Nikhil Deshpande Archit_Deshpande 0 M
37 Deeptesh Kumar Sahu Dr_Deep_Chesh 0 M
38 Ishwar Lal Patel Ishwar Lal Patel 0 M
39 Mayur Gondhalekar gonda 0 M
40 Pranav pranav104 0 M
41 Prasanth K Prabha prasanthkp1 0 M
42 P Benny Joseph bennyjoseph 0 M
43 Rahul Anil Bhagwat MRAA 0 M
44 Satyajit the_satya 0 M


Shahid Ahmed is the senior coordinator and editor of ChessBase India. He enjoys covering chess tournaments and also likes to play in chess events from time to time.


Rules for reader comments


Not registered yet? Register