King on the World Championship in Sofia

4/15/2010 – Next Friday, April 23rd, the World Championship match between Vishy Anand and Veselin Topalov begins in Sofia, Bulgaria. Tonight on Playchess.com GM Daniel King previews the event. What does the form book say? Which player has the better stats? What are the players' strengths and weaknesses? The programme begins at 19:00 London (20:00 in Germany, 2 p.m. NY). Schedule.

ChessBase 16 - Mega package Edition 2021 ChessBase 16 - Mega package Edition 2021

Your key to fresh ideas, precise analyses and targeted training!
Everyone uses ChessBase, from the World Champion to the amateur next door. It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy the game even more.

More...

Schedule of the World Championship in Sofia

The time controls for the Anand-Topalov match are 120 minutes for the first 40 moves, 60 minutes for the next 20 moves, then 15 minutes for the rest of the game, with an increment of 30 seconds per move starting from move 61.

Wednesday April 21 17:00 CET Official opening
Friday April 23 14:00 CET Game 1
Saturday April 24 14:00 CET Game 2
Sunday April 25 Rest Day  
Monday April 26 14:00 CET Game 3
Tuesday April 27 14:00 CET Game 4
Wednesday April 28 Rest Day  
Thursday April 29 14:00 CET Game 5
Friday April 30 14:00 CET Game 6
Saturday May 1 Rest Day  
Sunday May 2 14:00 CET Game 7
Monday May 3 14:00 CET Game 8
Tuesday May 4 Rest Day  
Wednesday May 5 14:00 CET Game 9
Thursday May 6 14:00 CET Game 10
Friday May 7 Rest Day  
Saturday May 8 14:00 CET Game 11
Sunday May 9 Rest Day  
Monday May 10 14:00 CET Game 12
Tuesday May 11 Rest Day  
Wednesday May 12 Tie breaks  

GM Daniel King will be one of the ChessBase
commentators covering the match.

You can listen to his and GM Yasser Seirawan's commentary on the the chess server Playchess.com. If you are not a member we adivse you to download the free PGN reader ChessBase Light. This program gives you immediate access to Playchess.


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register