Kasparov wins 2002 Chess Oscar

by ChessBase
5/9/2003 – It's gone from a woman under an umbrella to a man in a boat: it's the Chess Oscar, awarded by the Russian magazine 64. After polling hundreds of chess journalists from around the world they have announced that Garry Kasparov has won the 2002 award, making it three out of the past four and five since the award was revived in 1995. Leko took 2nd, Anand placed 3rd. More..

ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024 ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024

It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy the game even more.


Kasparov tops 2002 "Chess Oscar" voting

In 1967 the International Association of Chess Journalists created the Chess Oscar, won in its inaugural year by Bent Larsen. The tradition continued until 1988, when Garry Kasparov won his fourth consecutive prize. In 1995 the Russian chess magazine 64 and its editor Alexander Roshal resurrected the award. Kasparov picked up where the Oscar had left off, winning in 95 and 96.

They poll as many chess writers as they can track down for their top ten selections and add up the votes. (First place votes are worth more than second place votes, etc.) This year Kasparov won his second in a row by taking the 2002 prize by a wide margin over Peter Leko. Viswanathan Anand took third place.

Garry Kasparov     RUS  3802
Peter Leko         HUN  2668
Viswanathan Anand  IND  2453
Ruslan Ponomariov  UKR  2145
Vladimir Kramnik   RUS  1471
Eugeny Bareev      RUS  1132
Veselin Topalov    BUL   964
Judit Polgar       HUN   771
Anatoly Karpov     RUS   741

Since 1995 only Kasparov (5), Anand (2), and Kramnik (1) have won the award. The usual suspects enjoy considerable sentimental support, as evinced by Kramnik's fifth place in a year in which he played little and with little success when he did play. You might expect Bareev's win in Corus Wijk aan Zee and otherwise solid year to give him the edge there.

Kasparov dominated Linares, won the Moscow Grand Prix, and had a tremendous Olympiad performance for the Russian team. His poor rapid results in the Eurotel, the Russia vs the World match and against Karpov in New York didn't hurt him in the voting.

Leko played brilliantly in Dortmund, won the Dubai Grand Prix, and scored a 7/9 in the Borowski tournament, although it was behind the incredible 7.5/9 scored by Zvjaginsev.

Anand played almost exclusively in rapid events – and had a mediocre Linares – but his rapid play was so devastating that it could not be overlooked. He played well in Dubai, topped the star-studded field of the Prague Eurotel, beat Ponomariov in Mainz, won the FIDE World Cup, and rounded out the year by demolishing Karpov in the final of the Corsica Masters. No wonder Anand is on board for including rapid games in the rating formula!

You may have forgotten that although Ponomariov was the 2001 FIDE champion, he actually won the final match against Ivanchuk in January 2002. His second place in his first Linares was also a tremendous performance. Several mediocre results later in the year may have caused some to forget the early successes that had the world talking about "the Big Four" before it meant Leko!

Reports about chess: tournaments, championships, portraits, interviews, World Championships, product launches and more.


Rules for reader comments


Not registered yet? Register