FIDE World Teams squads announced for Jerusalem 2022

by ChessBase
10/28/2022 – From 19 to 26 November, the World Team Championship will be held in Jerusalem in a new format. Twelve national teams are taking part Some federations are coming with their top stars. Others are sending up-and-coming players. The US team is led by Hans Niemann.

ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024 ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024

It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy the game even more.


The 12 teams for the FIDE World Team Championship in Jerusalem (November 19-26) have been confirmed.

FIDE press release

In the line-ups of the participating teams we find stars like Maxime Vachier-Lagrave, Anish Giri, Teymur Radjabov, and Shakhriyar Mamedyarov, along with up-and-coming prodigies like Javokhir Sindarov and Nihal Sarin, and illustrious veterans like Vasyl Ivanchuk and Alexei Shirov.

This is the complete entry list:


Maxim Rodshtein
Tamir Nabaty
Avital Boruchovsky
Ilia Smirin
Evgeny Postny
Ori Kobo
(captain: Ilana David)


Radoslaw Wojtaszek
Kacper Piorun
Mateusz Bartel
Pawel Teclaf
(captain: Bartosz Socko)


Igor Kovalenko
Vasyl Ivanchuk
Andriy Volokytin
Kirill Shevchenko
Vitali Bernadskyi
Mykhaylo Oleksiyenko
(captain: Oleksandr Sulypa)


Xu Xiangyu
Bai Jinshi
Lu Shanglei
Li Di
(captain: Wen Yang)


Anish Giri
Jorden Van Foreest
Lucas Van Foreest
Max Warmerdam
Robby Kevlishvili
(captain: Jan Smeets)


Maxime Vachier-Lagrave
Jules Moussard
Laurent Fressinet
Maxime Lagarde
Tigran Gharamian
(captain: Jean-Baptiste Mullon)


Vidit Santosh Gujrathi
Nihal Sarin
Sasikiran Krishnan
Sethuraman Panayappan
Abhijit Gupta
(captain: Vaibhab Suri)


Solomon Kenneth Terence
Cawdery Daniel John
Barrish Daniel
Mhango Banele Fortune
(captain: Hendrik Petrus)


Nodirbek Yakubboev
Javokhir Sindarov
Jakhongir Vakhidov
Shamsiddin Vokhidov
Abdumalik Abdisalimov
Ortik Nigmatov
(captain: Khusan Turdaliev)


Hans Niemann
Lazaro Bruzon
Alexander Onischuk
Varuzhan Akobian
Yuniesky Quesada Perez
(captain: John Donaldson)


Jaime Santos
David Anton
Alexei Shirov
Daniil Yuffa
Miguel Santos
(captain: David Martinez)


Teimour Radjabov
Shakhriyar Mamedyarov
Rauf Mamedov
Nijat Abasov
Vasif Durarbayli
Misratdin Iskandarov
Nidjat Mamedov
Vugar Asadli
Mahammad Muradi
Aydin Suleymanli
Abdulla Gadimbayli
(captain: Gadir Guseinov)

*Azerbaijan is currently holding an internal qualifier event, and it has been given until November 1st to provide its final roster.

Under the exciting new format devised for this competition, the participant countries will now be split into two pools of similar strength, taking as a reference the rapid rating list for November 1st. The four best teams from each pool will advance to the knock-out stage, where they will play Quarter-finals, Semi-Finals, and Final, with each duel consisting of two matches between the teams.

The time control will be 45 minutes for the whole game with an increment of 10 seconds per move starting from move 1.

The event, organized by FIDE and the Israel Chess Federation with the support of the Israel Ministry of Sport and Culture, will be held at the Mount Scopus Hall in the Dan Hotel in Jerusalem. Former World Champion Viswanathan Anand and the seven-time French Women's Chess Champion Almira Skripchenko will be the commentators.

The Chief Arbiter for the event will be Alex Holowczak (ENG), with Alon Shulman (ISR) as his Deputy, and M S Gopakumar (IND) as Fair Play officer. 

You can read the complete regulations in the FIDE Handbook


Reports about chess: tournaments, championships, portraits, interviews, World Championships, product launches and more.