Endgame Magic with GM Karsten Müller and GM Daniel King

3/14/2012 – Endgame knowledge is not easy to acquire and is thus a valuable weapon. In his Endgame Magic Show on Playchess, the renowned endgame expert GM Karsten Müller assists you with a bunch of practical endgames. He shows how to handle the positions, which will help improve your practical results. The special guest will be GM Daniel King. An example and more information.

ChessBase 14 Download ChessBase 14 Download

Everyone uses ChessBase, from the World Champion to the amateur next door. Start your personal success story with ChessBase 14 and enjoy your chess even more!


Along with the ChessBase 14 program you can access the Live Database of 8 million games, and receive three months of free ChesssBase Account Premium membership and all of our online apps! Have a look today!

More...

Endgame Magic with GM Karsten Müller and GM Daniel King

Karsten Müller, critically acclaimed and popular author of many DVDs and books, has his own show on playchess.com. Once a month he presents selected examples from practical endgame play and shares his vast practical and theoretical endgame knowledge with the public. You can ask Karsten questions during the show and you can also just relax, lean back and let yourself be quietly entertained and instructed.

For this issue Karsten will be joined by GM Daniel King, who is recording another Power Play DVD in Hamburg.

The following example is from the recent Gibraltar tournament, which GM Nigel Short won. An interesting endgame was played between David Howell and Alexei Shirov. Shirov had the Black pieces and is to move and win. Try to solve the position yourself to prepare for the Endgame Magic Show, Thursday 5 pm.

The show starts at 4 p.m. or 16:00h British time = 17:00h CET, 19:00h Moscow, 9:30 p.m. Chennai, 24:00h Beijing, 03:00 a.m. Melbourne, 05:00 a.m. Auckland, 8 a.m. San Francisco, 11 a.m. New York. You can check your location here

Here's an example from the last episode of the Endgame Magic Show from December 2011:

 

Order Müller’s Endgame DVDs in the ChessBase Shop:

About the author:

Born 1970, Karsten Müller has a world-wide reputation as one of the greatest endgame experts. He has, together with Frank Lamprecht written a book on the subject: “Basics of chess endgames” in addition to other contributions such as his column on the website ChessCafe as well as in ChessBase Magazine. Karsten Müller’s ChessBase-DVDs about endgames in Fritztrainer-Format are bestsellers. The PhD in mathematics lives in Hamburg, where he has also been hunting down points for the HSK in the Bundesliga for many years.

Order King’s Power Play DVDs in the ChessBase Shop:

About the author:

Born 1963, Daniel King has been a professional chess player for more than 20 years and has represented his country in numerous competitions, amongst others in the historic win by the English over the Soviet Union in 1990 in Reykjavik. King is the author of more than 15 chess books and has wealth of experience as a trainer, assisting many of England’s leading players. He is also well known for his broadcasting on TV, radio and the internet, commentating major chess events. To the delight of chess fans worldwide, he hosts his monthly "Powerplay" show on the world's largest chess server, Playchess.com. He contributes to ChessBase Magazine, with the popular column "Move by Move". King has also produced the highly praised PowerPlay DVD series for ChessBase. King lives in London.


Discussion and Feedback Join the public discussion or submit your feedback to the editors


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register