Elista 2006: Match delayed, next game tomorrow

9/30/2006 – We have just received word from Elista that there will be no World Championship game today. President Kirsan Ilyumzhinov issued a brief statement stating that the next game would be tomorrow, Sunday, October 1st. No details were given as to whether it would be game five or six. We will keep you briefed.

ChessBase 14 Download ChessBase 14 Download

Everyone uses ChessBase, from the World Champion to the amateur next door. Start your personal success story with ChessBase 14 and enjoy your chess even more!


Along with the ChessBase 14 program you can access the Live Database of 8 million games, and receive three months of free ChesssBase Account Premium membership and all of our online apps! Have a look today!

More...

Veselin Topalov vs Vladimir Kramnik

Twelve games, played from September 23 to October 12 in Elista, Kalmikia. The games start at 15:00h (3:00 p.m.) local Elista time, which translates to 11:00h GMT, 13:00h CEST, 12:00h London, 7 a.m. New York.

Live coverage is available on the official FIDE site and on Playchess.com (with live audio commentary by GM Yasser Seirawan for ten Ducats per day). You can buy them in the ChessBase Shop.

The World Championship Match Topalov-Kramnik

Summary: the World Championship Reunification Match between FIDE world champion Veselin Topalov and classical chess world champion Vladimir Kramnik will be held in Elista, Kalmykia, from September 21 to October 13. It will consist of 12 games, played under classical time controls (two hours for the first 40 moves, one hour for the next 20 moves, and then 15 minutes for the rest of the game, plus an additional 30 seconds per move starting from move 61). If the match is tied there will be a four game rapid chess tiebreak (25 min + 10sec), after that two blitz games (5 min + 10 sec), then an armageddon game (6 min / 5 min, with white to win). The prize sum is US $500,000 USD per player, regardless of the outcome. The winner of the match is the unified and sole world champion and goes through to the next world championship tournament in October 2007 in Mexico City, while the loser has to wait for the next cycle.

Schedule of the World Chess Championship 2006
Day 1 Thurs.. 21 Sept 7:00 p.m. Opening ceremony
Day 2 Friday 22 Sept.   Rest day
Day 3 Sat. 23 Sept. 3:00 p.m. Game 1
Day 4 Sun. 24 Sept. 3:00 p.m. Game 2
Day 5 Mon. 25 Sept.   Rest day
Day 6 Tues. 26 Sept. 3:00 p.m. Game 3
Day 7 Wed. 27 Sept. 3:00 p.m. Game 4
Day 8 Thurs. 28 Sept.   Rest day
Day 9 Friday 29 Sept. 3:00 p.m. Game 5
Day 10 Sat. 30 Sept. 3:00 p.m. Game 6
Day 11 Sun. 1 Oct.   Rest day
Day 12 Mon. 2 Oct. 3:00 p.m. Game 7
Day 13 Tues. 3 Oct. 3:00 p.m. Game 8
Day 14 Wed. 4 Oct.   Rest day
Day 15 Thurs. 5 Oct. 3:00 p.m. Game 9
Day 16 Friday 6 Oct. 3:00 p.m. Game 10
Day 17 Sat. 7 Oct.   Rest day
Day 18 Sun. 8 Oct 3:00 p.m. Game 11
Day 19 Mon. 9 Oct   Rest day
Day 20 Tues. 10 Oct 3:00 p.m. Game 12
Day 21 Wed. 11 Oct   Rest day
Day 22 Thurs. 12 Oct 3:00 p.m. Tie breaks
Day 23 Friday 13 Oct 7:00 p.m. Closing ceremony

The starting time for the games is 15:00h local Elista time, which translates to 13:00h CEST, 12:00h London, 7 a.m. New York. You can find the starting time in your country here. The games will be broadcast on the FIDE web site and also on Playchess.com, the latter with live audio commentary by GM Yasser Seirawan.

Links


Discussion and Feedback Join the public discussion or submit your feedback to the editors


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register