Yu Yangyi and Tan Zhongyi are the 2020 Chinese champions

by Klaus Besenthal
1/2/2021 – The Chinese Championships took place in the city of Xinghua. In the open section, Yu Yangyi, Lu Shanglei and Wei Yi all collected 8 points after 11 rounds. Yu Yangyi, however, had the best tiebreak score. Fourth place went to the Women's World Champion Ju Wenjun, whose predecessor in the post of World Champion, Tan Zhongyi, won the women’s tournament. | Photo: Nadja Wittmann

ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024 ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024

It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy the game even more.


Chinese Championships 2020

Yu Yangyi was the sole leader before the eleventh and last round, but then only managed to score a draw, while Lu Shanglei and Wei Yi won their games.

Lu Shanglei defeated Wen Yang in an entertaining struggle:


Final standings

All games


Women’s tournament

The women’s tournament was won by former world champion Tan Zhongyi, who was also the clear rating favourite in the field. Tan obtained 8 points to finish a half point ahead of a two-player chasing pack.

Final standings

All games



Klaus Besenthal is computer scientist, has followed and still follows the chess scene avidly since 1972 and since then has also regularly played in tournaments.


Rules for reader comments


Not registered yet? Register