Chessable Masters: Nakamura knocks out Carlsen

by Klaus Besenthal
4/7/2023 – Division I of the Chessable Masters saw the losers’ bracket semifinal taking place on Thursday, a match that Magnus Carlsen won by a 2-0 score against Levon Aronian. So Carlsen moved on to the losers’ final, where Hikaru Nakamura, who had lost the winners’ bracket final to Fabiano Caruana, was already waiting for him. Carlsen and Nakamura drew twice before Carlsen lost the final Armageddon game — following an unfortunate mouse-slip. In the Grand Final, Nakamura will once again face Caruana.

ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024 ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024

It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy the game even more.


Chessable Masters

Division I

Our in-house endgame expert GM Karsten Müller annotated the dramatic sudden-death game between Magnus Carlsen and Hikaru Nakamura:


All games - Divsion I


Division II

In Division II, Nodirbek Abdusattorov won 3-0 against Maxime Vachier-Lagrave to reach the Grand Final. Vachier-Lagrave in turn went on to beat Anish Giri in the losers’ bracket, so he will meet Abdusattorov again in the Grand Final.

All games - Divsion II


Division III

In Division III, the Grand Final was played on Thursday. Iran’s Amin Tabatabaei defeated Russia’s Alexey Sarana to claim first place.

Replay all games from Division III at


Klaus Besenthal is computer scientist, has followed and still follows the chess scene avidly since 1972 and since then has also regularly played in tournaments.