Chess Oscar 2006 awarded to Vladimir Kramnik

by ChessBase
11/29/2007 – This international award, which has been awarded for the twelfth time in the new era, is a bronze statuette entitled the "Fascinated Wanderer". The winner is selected by a poll of chess experts across the world, of whom 204 saw Kramnik in first place (44 voted for Topalov and 41 for Anand). Kramnik received a total of 3636 voting points, with Topalov getting 2828 and Anand 2754. Details.

ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024 ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024

It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy the game even more.


The Twelfth Chess Oscar, for performance in the year 2006, has been awarded to Vladimir Kramnik, who won the World Championship title by beating Veselin Topalov in a reunification match in Elista in October last year. Kramnik was chosen by chess experts from over 50 countries. These experts nominated the ten strongest players, awarding 13 points for the first nominee, 11 for the second, nine for the third, seven for the fourth, six for fifth.... until one for the tenth.

The bronze figurine of the "Fascinated Wanderer" was formally handed over to Kramnik after the Tal Memorial tournament in Moscow by Alexander Zhukov, President of the Russian Chess Federation. Zhukov is also Deputy Chairman of the Russian Federation Government .

In the following table you can see how many points each player received, and how often that player appeared first on the lists submitted.

Pl. Player Country Points
1 Vladimir Kramnik Russia 3636
2 Veselin Topalov Bulgaria   2828
3 Viswanathan Anand India 2754
4 Levon Aronian Armenia 2238
5 Vassily Ivanchuk Ukraine 1122
6 Teimour Radjabov   Azerbaijan   980
7 Peter Leko Hungary 963
8 Alexander Morozevich Russia 888
9 Shakhriyar Mamedyarov    Azerbaijan 860
10 Magnus Carlsen Norway 822
11 Peter Svidler Russia 598
12 Ruslan Ponomariov Ukraine 312
13 Judit Polgar Hungary 262
14 Dimitry Jakovenko Russia 227
15 Boris Gelfand Israel 211

Previous winners

1967 Bent Larsen  Denmark
1968 Boris Spassky  Soviet Union
1969 Boris Spassky  Soviet Union
1970 Bobby Fischer  United States
1971 Bobby Fischer  United States
1972 Bobby Fischer  United States
1973 Anatoly Karpov  Soviet Union
1974 Anatoly Karpov  Soviet Union
1975 Anatoly Karpov  Soviet Union
1976 Anatoly Karpov  Soviet Union
1977 Anatoly Karpov  Soviet Union
1978 Viktor Korchnoi  Soviet Union
1979 Anatoly Karpov  Soviet Union
1980 Anatoly Karpov  Soviet Union
1981 Anatoly Karpov  Soviet Union
1982 Garry Kasparov  Soviet Union
1983 Garry Kasparov  Soviet Union
1984 Anatoly Karpov  Soviet Union
1985 Garry Kasparov  Soviet Union
1986 Garry Kasparov  Soviet Union
1988 Garry Kasparov  Soviet Union
no awards
1995 Garry Kasparov  Russia
1996 Garry Kasparov  Russia
1997 Viswanathan Anand  India
1998 Viswanathan Anand  India
1999 Garry Kasparov  Russia
2000 Vladimir Kramnik  Russia
2001 Garry Kasparov  Russia
2002 Garry Kasparov  Russia
2003 Viswanathan Anand  India
2004 Viswanathan Anand  India
2005 Veselin Topalov  Bulgaria
2006 Vladimir Kramnik  Russia

The winner of the 2005 Oscar, Veselin Topalov


Reports about chess: tournaments, championships, portraits, interviews, World Championships, product launches and more.


Rules for reader comments


Not registered yet? Register