Charity Cup Finals - Games and results

by ChessBase
3/26/2022 – The second event of the 2022 Meltwater Champions Chess Tour, the Charity Cup, will focus on raising funds for UNICEF to support children and their families within or fleeing Ukraine. Magnus Carlsen, Ding Liren and Richard Rapport head the 16-player field. The tournament is taking place on March 19-26, with the action kicking off daily at 18.00 CET (13.00 ET, 17.00 UTC, 22.30 IST).

ChessBase 16 - Mega package Edition 2022 ChessBase 16 - Mega package Edition 2022

Your key to fresh ideas, precise analyses and targeted training!
Everyone uses ChessBase, from the World Champion to the amateur next door. It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy the game even more.

More...

Finals - Day 2

The Charity Cup features four days of preliminaries, where the 16 participants will play each other once at rapid chess with a time control of 15 minutes plus 10-second increments before the top 8 go forward to the knockout stages.

The knockout features 4-game matches, one each for the quarterfinals and semifinals, and two matches for the final. If still tied, there are two 5+3 blitz games followed, if needed, by an Armageddon game, where White has 5 minutes to Black’s 4, but Black only needs a draw.

Schedule

  • March 19-22: Round-robin (4 rounds per day)
  • March 23: Quarterfinals
  • March 24: Semifinals
  • March 25-26: Finals

Charity Cup Chess 2022

Read the full preview...


Live games and commentary

 

Commentary by GMs Peter Leko and Daniel King


Final standings - Preliminaries

 

Links


Reports about chess: tournaments, championships, portraits, interviews, World Championships, product launches and more.

Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register