Champions Chess Tour: Finals

by André Schulz
9/24/2021 – Tomorrow, Saturday, 25 September, ten players will play the final tournament of the Champions Chess Tour 2020/2021: the eight winners of the individual tournaments of the series and two players who received wildcards. Unlike the previous tournaments, the final will be played as a round robin with no knock-out stage. First prize is 100,000 USD.

ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024 ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024

It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy the game even more.


When the Corona pandemic hit the world in 2020, Magnus Carlsen and his Play Magnus Group launched an online rapid chess tournament series to compensate the lack of over-the-board tournaments. This was a very successful idea, and the transmission of the games attracted many spectators, and in 2020/21 followed another tour of ten online tournaments. On Saturday, 25 September, this series will culminate with the grand final tournament, in which the best players of the series, will establish the best of the best.

Magnus Carlsen, who won three tournaments of the 2020/21 Meltwater Champions Chess Tour leads the overall standings, Wesley So is in second place. The US Grandmaster also won three tournaments, and twice defeated Magnus Carlsen in the knock-out finals

Master Class Vol.8 - Magnus Carlsen 2nd Edition

Let our authors show you how Carlsen tailored his openings to be able to outplay his opponents strategically in the middlegame or to obtain an enduring advantage into the endgame.

Also playing is Levon Aronian, the winner of the Goldmoney Asian Rapid. Aronian has since moved to the USA and will soon officially join the US federation. The Russian Grandmaster Vladislav Artemiev is also in the mix. He took part in three tournaments of the series and always reached the knockout phase.

The field also includes Hikaru Nakamura, Shakhriyar Mamedyarov and Anish Giri. The Dutchman won one tournament of the series, as did Teimour Radjabov, who will also play in the final.

Jan-Krzysztof Duda and Maxime Vachier-Lagrave received wildcards.

The final will be played as a round robin, without a knock-out stage. The official opening ceremony is on Friday. Magnus Carlsen, Anish Giri and Jan-Krzysztof Duda will play the tournament from the broadcast studio in Oslo but the other seven players will play from their homes. The games will be played via the Play Magnus platform chess24.

The final tournament has a prize fund of 300,000 USD. Of this, the winner receives 100,000 USD. The total prize fund of the tour was 1.6 million USD.


Tournament page...


André Schulz started working for ChessBase in 1991 and is an editor of ChessBase News.


Rules for reader comments


Not registered yet? Register