CBM Blog: Knight Tactics, Tactical Tricks and Ask the Expert

8/3/2011 – In endings with rook and knight a slight initiative often counts for a lot, as our endgame expert Dr. Karsten Müller shows. And that in rook endings small details often make the difference between a win and a draw. As a special treat, on Thursday at 5 p.m. CEST, you can consult GM Müller live in our "Ask the Expert" show on Playchess. Be there and improve your chess.

ChessBase 14 Download ChessBase 14 Download

Everyone uses ChessBase, from the World Champion to the amateur next door. Start your personal success story with ChessBase 14 and enjoy your chess even more!


Along with the ChessBase 14 program you can access the Live Database of 8 million games, and receive three months of free ChesssBase Account Premium membership and all of our online apps! Have a look today!

More...

Knight Tactics

In endings with rook and knight a slight initiative often counts for a lot:

Tactical Tricks

In rook endings small details often make the difference between a win and a draw. Where should White's king go, or should the rook move to e4?


Tomorrow: Ask the Experts with Karsten Müller

On Thursday, August 4th 2011, at 17:00h CEST (=19:00h Moscow, 16:00h UK or 11:00 a.m. New York) we will be broadcasting the sixth edition of “Ask the Expert” on Playchess.com. Endgame expert GM Karsten Müller is present to answer your questions, which viewers can send to him in advance via pascal.simon@chessbase.com. Naturally you can also ask the questions during the show via chat. The show is in English!

Here are samples of some shows in the Ask the Expert series:

Since 1988 grandmaster Dr. Karsten Müller from Hamburg has been playing for the Hamburger Schachklub in the Bundesliga, and in 1996 and 1997 he finished third in the German Championship. As an internationally renowned endgame expert he is the author of the endgame column in the ChessBase Magazine and the author of the Endgame Corner column on ChessCafe.com.

You will find a whole series of his very popular endgame DVD in the ChessBase Shop here.


Discussion and Feedback Join the public discussion or submit your feedback to the editors


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register