British Championship - Round 9: Adams wins seventh title

8/4/2019 – The 106th British Chess Championships are being held at Riviera International Centre in Torquay England from July 27th to August 4th. The top British players are there including last year's winner Michael Adams, David Howell and Nick Pert. Round 9 games and commentary daily from 9:00 UTC (11:00 CEST / 5:00 AM EDT). Official site: britishchesschampionships.co.uk

Typical mistakes by 1600-1900 players Typical mistakes by 1600-1900 players

Some mistakes repeat themselves often in amateur games. With themes such as "Miscalculating Forcing Lines", "Being Too Materialistic" and "King Safety" Nick Pert shows you how to avoid making typical mistakes.

More...

Round 9

GM Michael Adams was the sole leader after defeating IM Richard Pert in the penultimate round. In Sunday's morning round he made short work of GM Stephen Gordon to clinch his seventh British Championship with 7½/9. Jovanka Houska is the British Women's Champion with 6/9 — her ninth, and a record.

GM Danny Gormally will provide a detailed recap in his final report soon.

Final standings (top 10)

 

Results of top games

Round 1
 
Round 2
 
Round 3
 
Round 4
 
Round 5
 
Round 6
 
Round 7
 
Round 8
 
Round 9
 

All available games

 

Correction: An earlier version of this post said that Adams won by a full point. In fact, David Howell reached 7.0/9.

Links



Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register