Anand wins fourth Chess Oscar

by ChessBase
4/11/2005 – He won two in a row, in 1997 and 1998. Now Indian Super-GM Vishy Anand has done it again, winning the Oscar for 2004 Chess Oscar after clinching it for 2003. The worldwide poll involving leading chess writers, critics and journalists from 75 countries, and conducted by Russian magazine 64, gave Anand 5205 points for victory.

ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024 ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024

It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy the game even more.


The Russian chess magazine "64" has awarded the 10th chess Oscar to Indian chess star Viswanathan Anand, who was chosen by 445 chess experts (including 74 grandmasters) from 75 countries. These experts nominated the ten strongest players, and the following point system was used: 13 points for the first nominee, 11 for the second, nine for the third, seven for the fourth, six for fifth.... until one for the tenth.

Anand received 5205 points. He was the only player to be mentioned in every voting ballot, and was in first place in 279 of 445 lists. He takes the Oscar for the fourth time, and the second time in two years (he has won the Oscar in 1997, 1998, 2004 and 2005). Only Kasparov has achieved a similar result, winning the Oscar in 1995, 1996, 2001 and 2002. Anand receives and may keep the bronze statuette of "The Fascinated Wanderer" (picture above).

Record Oscar winners Kasparov and Anand

Top twenty Oscar nominees 2004


Reports about chess: tournaments, championships, portraits, interviews, World Championships, product launches and more.


Rules for reader comments


Not registered yet? Register