A host of passed pawns...

by ChessBase
11/22/2009 – ... versus an attack in the g- and f-file was featured in the following game, where after 30...f4 31.Qxg5 Rxg5 the queens were exchanged, but Black now was able to put the double threat 32...fxe3 and ...f3 in the balance. What is your comment on this situation? A) The passed pawns are not advanced far enough yet, so Black wins;  B) with best play a positional draw is the logical consequence; C) White remains victorious. The solution is here, but first ponder over it with a  larger version of the diagram.

ChessBase 16 - Mega package Edition 2022 ChessBase 16 - Mega package Edition 2022

Your key to fresh ideas, precise analyses and targeted training!
Everyone uses ChessBase, from the World Champion to the amateur next door. It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy the game even more.

More...


Reports about chess: tournaments, championships, portraits, interviews, World Championships, product launches and more.

Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register