A cornered king...

7/22/2009 – ... with the opponent already controlling one long diagonal and about to occupy the second usually means red alert. Here White has played 30.Qe5 holding a pistol to Black's head. What do you think about that? A) A real knockout blow, forcing immediate resignation; B) Not bad, but a surprising trick lets Black escape into an endgame; C) The move is rubbish, throwing away White's entire advantage. The solution is here, but first ponder it with a larger version of the diagram.

ChessBase 15 - Mega package ChessBase 15 - Mega package

Find the right combination! ChessBase 15 program + new Mega Database 2019 with 7.6 million games and more than 70,000 master analyses. Plus ChessBase Magazine (DVD + magazine) and CB Premium membership for 1 year!

More...



Discussion and Feedback Join the public discussion or submit your feedback to the editors


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register