World Rapid: Carlsen and Tan take gold

by ChessBase
12/28/2022 – Magnus Carlsen won his fourth World Rapid Championship title by scoring 10 points in 13 rounds at the open tournament in Almaty. Vincent Keymer and Fabiano Caruana completed the podium. Meanwhile, Tan Zhongyi grabbed the gold medal among the women, with Dinara Saduakassova and Savitha Shri finishing second and third respectively. | Find the final standings and all available games here. A full pictorial report will be published later today. | Photo: FIDE / Lennart Ootes

ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024 ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024

It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy the game even more.


Keymer keeps up the pace

Magnus Carlsen entered the final day of action at the World Rapid Championship in Almaty with a half-point lead over Vincent Keymer and Vladimir Fedoseev. Right off the bat, Carlsen widened the gap atop the standings by beating Keymer in their direct encounter, as Fedoseev also lost, against Fabiano Caruana. 

At that point, it seemed like going into cruise control mode would be enough for the favourite to take the title, but a loss against Vladislav Artemiev in round 11 meant the fight for first was very much alive still. 

In the penultimate round, Carlsen drew Caruana, who came from climbing up the standings, while co-leader Artemiev drew a 90-move game against Fedoseev. The two draws allowed Keymer to join them in first place, as after losing to Carlsen he had remarkably defeated Ian Nepomniachtchi and Vidit Gujrathi consecutively.

In the final round, Carlsen was the only co-leader that claimed a full point, as he beat Parham Maghsoodloo to clinch his fourth World Rapid Championship title. Artemiev lost to Caruana, while Keymer drew Maxime Vachier-Lagrave with the black pieces. In the end, Keymer took home the silver medal and Caruana grabbed bronze.

Replay all available games of the open section at

Final standings

Rk. Name Pts.  TB1 
1 Carlsen Magnus 10 100
2 Keymer Vincent 9,5 102,5
3 Caruana Fabiano 9,5 96,5
4 Dubov Daniil 9 103
5 Erigaisi Arjun 9 102,5
6 Fedoseev Vladimir 9 100
7 Artemiev Vladislav 9 99,5
8 Rapport Richard 9 85,5
9 Nihal Sarin 8,5 96,5
10 Abdusattorov Nodirbek 8,5 96,5
11 Mamedov Rauf 8,5 96,5
12 Giri Anish 8,5 96
13 Duda Jan-Krzysztof 8,5 95
14 Nepomniachtchi Ian 8,5 95
15 Vidit Santosh Gujrathi 8,5 93,5

...178 players

Tan, Saduakassova and Savitha

An exciting finale in the women’s championship saw Tan Zhongyi beating Dinara Saduakassova in blitz tiebreaks to claim her first world title in this category. Both players finished the tournament undefeated (prior to the tiebreaks), with Tan winning on demand in round 11 to catch the Kazhak star atop the standings.

Four players finished a half point behind Tan and Saduakassova, but it was 15-year-old Indian prodigy Savith Shri who took home the bronze medal, as she scored a crucial victory with black over Qianyun Gong in the penultimate round.

Aleksandra Goryachkina, Zhansaya Abdumalik and Humpy Koneru obtained as many points as the youngster, but fell short of reaching the podium due to their inferior tiebreak scores.  

Replay all available games of the women’s section at

Final standings

Rk. Name Pts.  TB1 
1 Tan Zhongyi 8,5 73,5
2 Saduakassova Dinara 8,5 65,5
3 Savitha Shri B 8 69
4 Goryachkina Aleksandra 8 68,5
5 Abdumalik Zhansaya 8 67,5
6 Koneru Humpy 8 66
7 Bivol Alina 7,5 71,5
8 Khotenashvili Bela 7,5 69
9 Kosteniuk Alexandra 7,5 64
10 Charochkina Daria 7,5 57
11 Batsiashvili Nino 7 71,5
12 Danielian Elina 7 71
13 Gong Qianyun 7 68,5
14 Gunina Valentina 7 68
15 Garifullina Leya 7 67,5

...98 players

The World Rapid Championship are Swiss opens (13 rounds in the open and 11 rounds in the women’s) with a time control of 15 minutes for the entire game, plus a 10-second increment starting from move one. A tie for first place will be decided by two 3+2 blitz games. If still tied, more 3+2 games will be played until finding a winner.

Schedule (Open)

  • December 26: Rounds 1-5
  • December 27: Rounds 6-9
  • December 28: Rounds 10-13

Useful links

All games





Commentary by Peter Leko & Jan Gustafsson

Commentary by GM Alexander Shabalov and WGM Keti Tsatsalashvili


Reports about chess: tournaments, championships, portraits, interviews, World Championships, product launches and more.