Game of the Week: Good knight vs bad bishop

by Merijn van Delft
12/26/2018 – Ideas and strategies in Grandmaster games can be quite instructive. IM Merijn van Delft presents games like these every Wednesday at 20:00 CET (19:00 UT, 2 pm EDT). On this week's show: Good knight vs bad bishop. The live show is free to watch, and available on-demand for ChessBase Premium account holders. To chat, please visit videos.chessbase.com/live or login via Playchess for Windows.

Power Play Strategy package - 6 DVDs Power Play Strategy package - 6 DVDs

The strategy package will help you to understand more about chess than you ever have before!

More...

Week 52

Tonight we are going to finish the year with a modern example of a classical theme. At the Nutcracker Match of the Generations, Nigel Short beat David Paravyan with good knight vs bad bishop.

As a warm-up question: How would you proceed from this position with White?

 

White to move


This week's show

The live show is free to watch, and available on-demand for ChessBase Premium account holders.

To chat, please visit videos.chessbase.com/live or login via Playchess for Windows

Merijn is live at 20:00 CET (18:00 UT, 2 pm EDT)


Watch previous shows


Recent shows

Many more Game of the Week shows are available in ChessBase Videos

Links




Merijn van Delft is an International Master from the Netherlands who lived in Hamburg for many years and is currently based in Amsterdam. After scoring a GM norm in 2017 he is eager for more. His ChessBase show on Wednesday evenings has been running for over ten years now.
Discussion and Feedback Join the public discussion or submit your feedback to the editors


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register