Game of the Week: A dynamic Catalan

by Merijn van Delft
12/5/2018 – Ideas and strategies in Grandmaster games can be quite instructive. IM Merijn van Delft presents games like these every Wednesday at 20:00 CEST (19:00 UT, 2 pm EDT). On this week's show: A Catalan from China's Yu Yangyi. The live show is free to watch, and available on-demand for ChessBase Premium account holders. To chat, please visit videos.chessbase.com/live or login via Playchess for Windows.

The Reliable Petroff The Reliable Petroff

The Petroff (or Russian) Defence which is characterised by the moves 1.e4 e5 2.Nf3 Nf6 has been popular at the highest levels for many years and enjoys the reputation of being an extremely solid defence.

More...

Week 49

In the Chinese league last Friday, top grandmaster Yu Yangyi won a very dynamic game with the Catalan. Tonight we'll study the typical and not so typical ideas he used in this game.

As a warm-up question: Where would you put the white queen?

 

White to move


This week's show

The live show is free to watch, and available on-demand for ChessBase Premium account holders.

To chat, please visit videos.chessbase.com/live or login via Playchess for Windows

Merijn is live at 20:00 CEST (18:00 UT, 2 pm EDT)


Watch previous shows


Recent shows

Many more Game of the Week shows are available in ChessBase Videos

Links




Merijn van Delft is an International Master from the Netherlands who lived in Hamburg for many years and is currently based in Amsterdam. After scoring a GM norm in 2017 he is eager for more. His ChessBase show on Wednesday evenings has been running for over ten years now.
Discussion and Feedback Join the public discussion or submit your feedback to the editors


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register